Talk to me in Korean: Lessons 1-7

 

keep-calm-and-learn-korean-12

When I first became interested in learning Korean it seemed that there weren’t that many resources out there for learning it, but since then I have found a lot of free resources online. One that I have often heard recommended is Talk to Me in Korean (TTMIK)

They have more than a thousand free lessons on their website and it seems to get updated daily with topical phrases and learning materials.

I decided to start right at the beginning by listening to their podcasts, each of which has a free pdf containing the vocabulary from that lesson – click here to see each Level 1 lesson, complete with audio and pdf.

The lessons go from Level 1 -9, each level containing around 25-30 lessons.

So far I have only listened to the first few lessons of Level 1 so I can’t speak for the later lessons yet but each lesson seems to last around 10 minutes and focus on 2-3 words or phrases.

So far I haven’t learned anything completely new but I do like the way it feels very manageable – if you listened to just one podcast everyday you could learn around 700 – 1000 words in a year, certainly a good start to any language.

I plan to listen to at least 1 or 2 everyday, alongside other resources such as How to study Korean, Pimsleur and Memrise. While I am not expecting to make excellent progress in Korean just by doing this I hope that it will give me a good foundation so I will be able to start doing language exchanges and taking face-to-face lessons whenever I graduate from my postgraduate degree in July. Until graduation, unfortunately, languages will have to take a bit of a back seat!

I have summarized the material from the first 7 lessons below as a way for me to revise the material and hopefully provide a resource for others thinking of trying TTMIK out!

You can review all the vocabulary for Level 1 (Lessons 1-25) on Memrise here


Lesson 1: Hello / Thank you! 안녕하세요, 감사합니다

001-1001-2


 

Lesson 2: Yes / No 네, 아니요, 네?

002-1002-2


 Lesson 3: Goodbye! 안녕히 가세요, 안녕히 계세요, 안녕

003-1


 Lesson 4: Sorry/ Excuse me 죄송합니다, 저기요

004-1004-2004-3


 Lesson 5: It’s / What is it? -이에요/예요

005-1005-2005-3


 Lesson 6: This is…/ What is this? 이거, 이거 뭐예요?

006-1006-2006-3006-4006-5006-6


 Lesson 7: This/ That/ It 이, 그, 저

007-1007-2007-3007-4

I related these to the Japanese kono/sono/ano which are similarly used for something nearby, near the person you are speaking with or far from you both. In Japanese it can also suggest emotional distance – I wonder about Korean?


 

What did you think? Did you learn something new in Korean?

Check back later for more lesson summaries or get started learning yourself at the TTMIK website!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

