Korean Basic Conversation Part 4 – Review of Week 2

(See the previous posts from this week: Greetings, Nationalities, Occupations and the posts for learning to read Korean in Week 1: Vowels, Consonants, Extra consonants & vowels, Syllables and final consonants)

This lesson sums up the topics covered in Week 2 of the course – Greetings, Nationalities and Occupations as well as adding a few pieces of new vocabulary.

Can you read the conversations below?

001002

Now try it without the translation – feeling brave?

003004

The teacher notes that this is another occasion when the pronunciation changes due to two sounds being near each other.005

Here are a few new words to bulk up your Korean vocabulary:006

This is used a lot in Korean – it can also be used to call someone in a restaurant. If you watch any Korean TV you will be able to hear this word in a variety of contexts.007

I learned the more formal version of this – manaso pangapsimnida – from my Korean textbook. As I am still a beginner I tend to err on the side of polite speech when I am not sure which to use…but I hope that Korean people will forgive me my mistakes at this stage!

Next the teacher introduced the use of the word ‘to’ which means ‘as well/ also’008

Try filling in the gaps in the conversation below with the information on the left:009

Could you do it? See below for a model answer.

010011012013014015

And one more time – good luck!

016017018019020021022

The teacher finished off this week of lessons with a quick look at the differences in levels of formality used when speaking with different people. For example, in the picture below the man on the left is a teacher, speaking to his pupil so he uses informal Korean while the student uses formal Korean.023

The parent then uses very formal Korean to show respect for the teacher.

024

In the last example two girls of a similar age are talking so they use informal Korean.

025

I am sure that learning to use the correct level of Korean will become more natural as time goes on. In Japanese I learned the normal level of polite speech first, the informal through spending time with friends in Japan. It wasn’t until I lived in Japan that I began to also learn keigo, the extra-polite Japanese used in business situations. I promptly apologized to my teachers because I had been using normal-polite Japanese instead of keigo with them! Later, working in a Japanese company  continued studying extra formal Japanese, alongside a young Japanese colleague who admitted that many young people in Japan also find it difficult to use it.

Things have been quite busy with me as I am applying for jobs for next year and have quite a few interviews to go to, alongside my normal work, but I will keep going with Korean…even if progress is a bit slower than before!

Let me know how your Korean study is going!

 

Leave a Reply

