Mina Scarletti: Introducing a feisty female investigator (Giveaway!)

minascarletti

If you’re looking for a Victorian mystery series, with a feisty female lead, set in the U.K., you’re in luck! This trilogy is being re-released by Sapere Books and I can’t wait to get stuck in to reading it!

Book1: Mr Scarletti’s Ghost (Published 5th February 2018)

Book 2: The Royal Ghost (Published Spring 2018)

Book 3: An Unquiet Ghost (Published 1st March 2018)

If you’re just here for the giveaway, keep scrolling to the bottom to enter!


Mr Scarletti’s Ghost

The first in a thrilling Victorian mystery series, with a feisty female lead! Perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie and Antonia Hodgson…

Those grieving for their lost love ones are desperate to communicate with the dead once more. But are they falling prey to unscrupulous fortune hunters?


Brighton, 1871

Psychics and mediums have become all the rage in fashionable Brighton. But can they really communicate with the dead?

Mina Scarletti, a local authoress, is sceptical. But when her recently widowed mother insists on hosting a séance, she agrees to take part.

Miss Eustace certainly seems convincing, and there is no doubt that she has amassed plenty of loyal followers, but why are the meetings always held in the dark? And why is her address kept a secret?

Plagued with doubts and concerned that her mother and her vulnerable friends may be falling prey to conmen and tricksters, Mina decides to investigate. Under the ploy of wishing to communicate with her dead father’s – Mr Scarletti’s – ghost, she leaves no stone unturned in her quest for the truth.

Is Mina right to doubt the spiritualists?

Can she convince her mother she is being duped by a fraudster?

Or will Mr Scarletti’s Ghost return from the grave …?


MR SCARLETTI’S GHOST is the first cosy mystery in Linda Stratmann’s intriguing historical series, the Mina Scarletti Mysteries, a traditional British detective series with a feisty woman sleuth set in Victorian Brighton.


“I love Linda Stratmann’s writing. Her descriptions of Brighton are so sharp and vivid you can smell and taste the city on every page.” – Peter James, author of Dead Like You


‘Linda Stratmann has provided an indomitable heroine in Mina Scarletti’ – promotingcrime.blogspot.com


The novel is perfect for those who enjoy a Victorian atmosphere […] it is thoughtful, well-characterised and thought-provoking’ – Historical Novel Society


Linda Stratmann is happily feeding the unquenchable thirst for Victorian crime fiction’http://www.crimefictionlover.com

 


Intrigued?

Leave a comment on this blog post to be entered to win a free digital copy of the first book in this trilogy.


Can’t wait to get reading? Click here to buy a copy on Amazon

Find out more about the author here.

Find out more about SapereBooks here.


For another chance to win an ebook of the first book in the trilogy – hop on over to Twitter and follow/retweet the tweet about this series.


The giveaway is open internationally and will close to entries on 9th March. Five winners will be chosen randomly to receive an e-book of the first book in the trilogy.

Good luck!


 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. deborahkehoe says:

    This series sounds great and I’d love to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting. You might get lucky in the giveaway! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma's Library says:

    Oh wow, I love mysteries like these and it looks so good! I’m also intrigued to know what Victorian Brighton would be like because it is a place I know quite well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is always fun to read books set in places you now well, isn’t it? I did my postgraduate degree in The University of Brighton but it was on the Falmer campus so I didn’t see much of Brighton itself. Looking forward to starting the series this weekend. Good luck in the competition – hope you win a copy!

      Like

      1. Emma's Library says:

        Yeah it is. My sister went to school there so we got to go at least once a year, although my parents saw more of it than I did.

        I hope you like the series!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.