Snow!

Snow makes the mundane magical.

cof

When it starts to snow I can’t ignore the thrill!

So we finally got snow here in the South-East of England. By the time we sent the kids home from school at 3:30 on Friday it was a proper white-out and we were one of the few schools still open!

Normally, I like to get a lot of things done on Friday after school but I didn’t want to miss the snow so I went out to enjoy it. The park looked like something from a Christmas card, with what seemed like hundreds of children having snowball fights and sledging.

IMG_20180302_162223

I enjoyed a good frolic through the snow despite the cold – I don’t think I will ever grow out of loving it!

IMG_20180302_163347

Having a very different experience of the snow was my other half – he was stuck in traffic for 3 hours, then lost his wing mirror to a bus that swung around the corner and hit his car. Luckily, nobody was hurt, but he was happy to see the back of the snow, while I was wishing for more!

Today, it’s as if the snow was never here as the Spring sunshine has melted it all away…


How has the weather been in your area?

How do you feel about snow? A treat or a pain!


Find me on Twitter or Goodreads


 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. As long as I’m not driving in it, I think it’s beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s very true – I wouldn’t enjoy driving in the snow! It’s much nicer when you have time to play in the snow, then can curl up warm inside with a cup of tea and a book.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    Wow, so pretty! I love snow! I live in Eastern Colorado and we’ve had a few snowstorms this winter, but now the snow has melted and it’s very windy here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, the wind doesn’t sound too pleasant! I’m from Northern Ireland and we usually get two big snowfalls a year. I now live in the South of England and snow is much rarer here so it was a nice surprise! Is snow pretty normal for you? I think, when people are used to it, it doesn’t cause much of a problem, but when they;re not used to it, it causes chaos!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah says:

    Winters in Northern Ireland must be beautiful! Yes, snow is fairly normal for us. We have some years with a lot of snow, and then some years with very little, so it’s predictably unpredictable. 🙂 That’s very true about being used to it, and I’ve seen that happen when warmer parts of the US get snow. Do you find that people generally like the snow more in Northern Ireland or in England?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In England everyone seems to get quite excited at first as it doesn’t happen too often. The novelty quickly wears off when the trains and buses stop running though… In Northern Ireland we’re much more used to it so people just get on with a lot more. Everyone in the U.K. loves a good conversation about the weather though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.