Book Rainbow: Yellow Books Part 2

See Part 1 of the yellow book stack here.

See Red and Orange books from my shelves.

IMG_2843


Mirror, Shoulder, Signal by Dorthe Nors

A spikily funny, startlingly perceptive and beautifully written novel about modern life by the brightest light in Danish fiction

Sonja’s over forty, and she’s trying to move in the right direction. She’s learning to drive. She’s joined a meditation group. And she’s attempting to reconnect with her sister.

But Sonja would rather eat cake than meditate.

Her driving instructor won’t let her change gear.

And her sister won’t return her calls.

Sonja’s mind keeps wandering back to the dramatic landscapes of her childhood – the singing whooper swans, the endless sky, and getting lost barefoot in the rye fields – but how can she return to a place that she no longer recognizes? And how can she escape the alienating streets of Copenhagen?

Mirror, Shoulder, Signal is a poignant, sharp-witted tale of one woman’s journey in search of herself when there’s no one to ask for directions.

I became interested in reading this after seeing it on the list for the Man Booker International. I also like to read books from other countries, in the original language if possible but in translation if not. I was lucky enough to win a copy of this through a Goodreads giveaway but have yet to read it. Whoops!


Phoenix by S.F. Said

THE SUPERNOVA IS COMING . . . ONE BOY ALONE CAN SAVE THE GALAXY!

Lucky thinks he’s an ordinary Human boy. But one night, he dreams that the stars are singing – and wakes to find an uncontrollable power rising inside him.

Now he’s on the run, racing through space, searching for answers. In a galaxy at war, where Humans and Aliens are deadly enemies, the only people who can help him are an Alien starship crew – and an Alien warrior girl, with neon needles in her hair.

Together, they must find a way to save the galaxy. For Lucky is not the only one in danger. His destiny and the fate of the universe are connected in the most explosive way . . .

Picked this up from my local library after reading Varjak Paw from the same author and hearing lots of rave reviews for this book. It is really original and the illustrations from Dave McKean really complement and add to the experience. Beautiful!


IMG_2845


The Book of Luce by L. R. Fredericks

My obsession begins in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons’ legendary last secret gig.
That night changes my life: I must know who Luce is. But the deeper I dig, the more questions I turn up. Is Luce a rock star or a pretender? An artist or an acid trip?

My redemption . . . or my delusion?

Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I become the dark shadow who follows the light of Luce. But who follows me? Are they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?

The quest for Luce will lead me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I will lose everything and everyone I love . . . except for Luce.

Who is pawn and who is player? Murderer or victim? Betrayer or saviour?

I am the only one who knows the truth.

This is the truth.

This is The Book of Luce.

I was lucky enough to win this in a Goodreads giveaway but have yet to pick it up. Some people who have read it have loved it while others have found it impenetrable. I’m not entirely sure if it will be my cup of tea or not…


The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

Originally picked this up from the library, then bought my own copy as I loved it. Very original and creepy with realistic characters, this is well worth a read even if you’re not a massive fan of science fiction, dystopia or zombies.


What did you think of these books – are there any that you have read and would recommend?

Are there any that you might pick up now?


Find me on Twitter or Goodreads


 

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.