Waiting on Wednesday: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

athousand


A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Written by Ellen Oh, Elsie Chapman, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renee Ahdieh, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Cindy Pon, Alyssa Wong, Sona Charaipotra , Aisha Saeed , Lori M. Lee , Shveta Thakrar , Preeti Chhibber , E.C. Myers , Rahul Kanakia 

336 pages

Published by Greenwillow Books

Publication date: 26th June 2018


Summary (from Goodreads):

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish.

For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • Fairytales retold = I am definitely interested in reading, particularly if they are lesser-known fairytales rather than the most popular ones.
  • Stories drawn from East and South Asian culture definitely sound like my cup of tea! I am so happy that this collection of stories have been drawn together.
  • Look at the authors on that list – so many great writers with voices from so many different backgrounds and places! There are some who I already know and love and others that I don’t know well, yet. I am looking forward to finding some new authors to read.
  • We need more diverse books – books should reflect the reality we live in, looking at different facets of human experience. Unfortunately, so much of what is reflected in fiction is that of a narrow part of the human experience so the wider the range of voices, the better!
  • Can I just have this book now? Can’t wait to read it!

 


Has your interest been piqued by this book and the description?

Does it sound like the kind of book you might enjoy?

Are you planning to read this book? Why/ Why not?


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here:  When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, StarfishThe Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia UnleashedBright Ruin.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Way You Make Me Feel, Lancelot, The Company of Eight, Starfish, or A Different Pond?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


 

40 Comments Add yours

  1. I heard there’s a Filipino folktale retelling by Roshani Chokshi here so I really want to get my hands on this one- especially since that one is one of my favorites! Plus, that cover is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait for this book! It just ticks every box for me, even the ones I didn’t know I was looking for! Let me know what you think of it when you get it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.