Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl with the Dragon Heart

girlwithdragonheart


The Girl with the Dragon Heart

Written by Stephanie Burgis

240 pages

Published by Bloomsbury

Publication date: 9th August 2018


Summary (from Goodreads):

Once upon a time, in a beautiful city famous for chocolate and protected by dragons, there was a girl so fearless that she dared to try to tell the greatest story of all: the truth.

Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that just years after arriving as a penniless orphan, she has found her way up to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city (oh, and becoming best friends with a dragon). Now her gift for weaving words has caught the eye of the royal family, who want to use her as a spy when the mysterious and dangerous fairy royal family announce they will visit the city. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies …

Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden? From the author of the magical The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart comes a second magical adventure perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell, Cornelia Funke and Peter Bunzl.


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • I read the first book, The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and fell in love with it! Brilliant world-building, lovable characters and a writing style which made the story flow effortlessly. At the time I described it as a ‘pretty much perfect MG‘ which I stand by, so I am excited to dive back into this world again.
  • I had a lot of questions about the magic system in the world so I want to find out more!
  • Aventurine is a fantastic character – the dragon turned into a girl in search of an adventure in the first book. This second book is told by Silke, a street-smart, fast-talking orphan who befriends Aventurine and uses her eloquence to get out of some pretty tricky situations. I imagine she will make for a fun narrator!
  • The publishers list this for fans of Cornelia Funke, Peter Bunzl and Cressida Cowell – I love everything all of these authors have written so, even if I didn’t already know I would love this book based on adoring the first one, I would be rushing to pick this up!
  • It sounds like a modern fairytale and I love fairytales. So excited to read this book!

See more Waiting on Wednesdays here: To Kill a Kingdom, The Exact Opposite of Okay, The Tangled Lands, The Astonishing Colour of After, Words in Deep Blue, When the Mountains Roared, Starfish, The Gloaming, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Black Wings Beating, The Storm Keeper’s Island, Nyxia Unleashed, Bright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings and Archenemies.


 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. KD says:

    What a beautiful book. Sounds like a lovely series as well

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would recommend it based on the first book -I just picked it up from the library without expecting much and loved it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked the first book too, so am also looking forward to this! I’m also hoping to get to the author’s MG trilogy soon 😊
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, didn’t know there was one so will look it up! I think I loved the first book so much because I just went in without any expectations or reviews so it blew me away!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, the Kat Stephenson books 😊. Not read any yet but they look interesting so I bought the whole trilogy on a whim just after Christmas 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

      2. There is never anything wrong with buying books! Though I am beginning to suspect that I have a problem as I am accumulating so many at the moment…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.