Library Loot: Aliens, Fences and Fairies

Library Loot: Aliens, Fences and Fairies


libraryloot20-4-19


Zero Repeat Forever by G. S. Prendergast


The 5th Wave meets Beauty and the Beast in this fast-paced and heart-stopping novel about an invasion of murderous creatures and one girl fighting for her life at the end of the world.

He has no voice or name, only a rank, Eighth. He doesn’t know the details of the mission, only the directives that hum in his mind: Dart the humans. Leave them where they fall. His job is to protect his Offside. Let her do the shooting. Until a human kills her…

Sixteen-year-old Raven is at summer camp when the terrifying armored Nahx invade. Isolated in the wilderness, Raven and her fellow campers can only stay put. Await rescue. Raven doesn’t like feeling helpless, but what choice does she have? Then a Nahx kills her boyfriend.

Thrown together in a violent, unfamiliar world, Eighth and Raven should feel only hate and fear. But when Raven is injured, and Eighth deserts his unit, their survival comes to depend on trusting each other…

This is one I have intended to pick up several times over the past few years because I am generally a big fan of dystopia and science fiction. Spotted this when in my local library and added it to the towering to-be-read pile.


Internment by Samira Ahmed


Rebellions are built on hope.

Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens.

With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp’s Director and his guards.

Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence that exists in our society today.

I picked this up because I have already read Love, Hate and Other Filters by this author and I am actively trying to read more diversely because I believe that books should reflect the diversity of our world, rather than only reflecting certain facets of reality. This book sounds like it will explore the dangers of classifying those different from ourselves as ‘other’.


The Middler by Kirsty Applebaum


“I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had.”

Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam.

Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig – everyone loves Trig. But Maggie’s just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head.

Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family.

This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Frances Hardinge.

I had never heard of this book until a few weeks ago, when it suddenly started appearing everywhere on social media. When I heard that it was a middle-grade fantasy book I already wanted to read it. Then I saw that it was recommended for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Frances Hardinge. Having devoured pretty much everything these wonderful authors have written, I knew that I had to read this!


The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods by Samuel J. Halpin


This is the story of a sleepy town called Suds. A place where stories fill the air of children who keep turning grey and disappearing without a trace…

Poppy and Erasmus are certain there’s something peculiar going on in Suds, and they’re determined to unravel its secrets. But when they discover the answers might lie in the darking and twisting woods, can they find the courage to creep inside and solve this riddling mystery?

“A thrilling read…flavoured with fairytales, drizzled with a syrup of fear and sprinkled with heart.” M.G. Leonard, author of Beetle Boy

This is a book that I just keep hearing mentioned on social media so, knowing very little about it, I picked up a copy in my local library. I am already intrigued by the fact that it is set in the deep, dark woods and inspired by fairytales – sounds like my cup of tea!


The Merrybegot by Julie Hearn


In a remote west-country village, all is not as it seems. The minister’s daughters have taken to their bed, howling and spitting pins. Rumours of bad magic and ill-wishing are spreading fast—and fingers are pointing at Nell, the cunning woman’s granddaughter.

With Matthew Hopkins, the Witch-Finder General, on his way, Nell is alone, trapped, and in mortal danger. Who can she trust? Who will save her?

I ordered a copy of this from my local library after seeing the author Michelle Harrison posting about how much she loved it on an announcement that it was going to be re-published with a gorgeous new cover. I love all of Michelle Harrison’s books and I love stories based on folklore so I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t come across this book before! It sounds brilliant but the cover sorely needs an update!


libraryloot20-4-19


What did you think of my choices this week?

Did you spot any you might read?


librarylootbadge

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.


See my previous library loots here:

Mysteries, Paris and Hope

Feminism, Folklore and Body Positivity

Gymnastics, Mermaids and Achieving Your Dreams

Birds, Cages and Secrets

Dragons, Magic and Fairytales

Sequels and Secrets

Outer Space, Winter and Magic

Witches and War

Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Magic, Romance, More Magic

UK YA Bests


What do you think of the books I have chosen?

Would you like to read any of them?

Or are there any you would recommend me moving straight to the top of the TBR list?

Do you have a library near you?

How often do you borrow books?

Do you ever buy books after having already read them?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Beware Of The Reader says:

    How didn’t I know about Zero repeat Forever???? Reading that blurb here it seems just my cup of tea! Added to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great! Hope you like it! It was a book that I kept on seeing around but hadn’t picked up it up until now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.