Waiting on Wednesday: The Last Spell Breather

Waiting on Wednesday: The Last Spell Breather


lastspellbreather


The Last Spell Breather

Written by Julie Pike

256 pages

Published by Oxford University Press Kids

Publication date: 1st August 2019


Summary (from Goodreads):

A stunning fantasy debut, enter the unique world of the Spell Breathers.
Spell Breathing does not come naturally to Rayne – she loathes the hours of practice, the stacks of scrolls, and the snapping mud devils that cover her mothers precious spell book.
But it is spell breathing that keeps her village safe from the dreaded monster curse that plagues their world. It is ancient powerful magic, but as Rayne learns to her horror . . . it is also fragile.
In one clumsy move, the magic that keeps them safe is broken, her village is plunged into danger, and an incredible adventure begins . . .

Suitable for:  Perfect for 9+ fans of fantasy adventure and magic. Readers of The House with Chicken Legs, Nevermoor, Sky Song


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • Magic! Spells! You had me at that, to be honest. I love fantasy and magic so I will definitely want to read this!
  • Both Peter Bunzl and Sinead O’Hart have recommended this – I love both of their books so I am sure that The Last Spell Breather will become another favourite!
  • The publisher recommends this for fans of Sky Song, Nevermoor and The House with Chicken Legs – all fantastic reads! If this book is to join their ranks then I am sure it will be a winner!
  • The magic system sounds really risky and original. I am a big fan of magic in books, but even more of a fan where the magic has a cost to use. I think that is much more realistic than just fixing everything with magic without there being a cost.
  • In Sinead O’Hart’s review she mentions that this book has fleshed out characters, mud-monsters, fish-people and wily talking foxes – they all sound brilliant!
  • Bonus – isn’t it a gorgeous cover? Book covers recently are just works of art!

What do you think?

Does this sound like the kind of book you would enjoy?

Will you be reading this or do you have any other anticipated releases you would recommend to me?

Let me know in the comments!


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here:  When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, StarfishThe Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia UnleashedBright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Empress of All Seasons, Tempests and Slaughter, Grim Lovelies, The Glass of Lead and Gold, Storm Witch, The Way Past Winter, The Gilded Wolves, Fierce Fairytales, Descendant of the Crane. Dragon Pearl, Last of Her Name. The Familars. A Pinch of Magic, A Witch Come True, The Winter of the Witch. Once Upon a River, A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Shadowscent, Romanov. Echo North, The Wicked King, The Priory of the Orange Tree, Spin the Dawn, Master of Sorrows, Asha and the Spirit Bird, A Treason of Thorns, We Rule The Night, Perfectly Preventable Deaths, Rumblestar.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Hazel Wood, Tangleweed and Brine, Sanctuary, The Pretender or The Gilded King?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

26 Comments Add yours

  1. I had a proof of this so have already read it and can confirm it’s absolutely brilliant. You’re going to LOVE Frank! And the magic system is phenomenal.
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I can’t wait! The summary has intrigued me and your recommendation means a lot too! Can’t wait to meet Frank! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so excited for you to read it now! Honestly, I think I might love him more than Malkin 😱💜

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh my goodness, that is sacrilege! Malkin is the ultimate! Perhaps he and Frank would get along…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I LOVE Malkin. Frank is epic- honestly, you’re going to love him. And he’d def get on with Malkin!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. If I ever write a book it will probably have a talking fox in it…lol

        Liked by 1 person

      5. If you wrote a book it’d be immediately on my TBR anyway, but that would put it very close to the top 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I know that they say everyone has a book in them, but I get too distracted by research to actually write one I think! 😂 Still, foxes would definitely feature 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. What do you think that you would definitely include in a book? x

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Ooh I’m not sure- I imagine a mystery would probably be in there somewhere given how much I love to read them… x

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Yes! I can imagine you writing a mystery! Mine would probably (read: definitely) be fantasy! Magic and folklore would be there too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lilyfae says:

    As Amy says this is a fantastic book! I have read the proof and it’s absolutely fantastic and ALL THE WUNDERSTUFF you are looking forward to is there in spades.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really can’t wait! So jealous that you’ve read it already!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lilyfae says:

        I am extremely lucky and very grateful!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Beware Of The Reader says:

    It does sound like a book I might enjoy and the cover is so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you like it! I will be getting my hands on a copy as soon as possible!

      Like

  4. Oh I am sooo into this. That cover is stunning. And talking foxes – say no more! August can’t come soon enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so excited about this one – the summary had me and then I spotted that there were talking foxes = take my money already!

      Like

  5. This looks and sounds so charming!! Talking foxes? YES PLEASE. And honestly, MG/children’s books get the best covers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The cover is gorgeous, the summary sounds great and I keep hearing great things from other bloggers who have read it – so excited! Have you read Cogheart? It features a talking mechanical fox!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.