Library Loot: Mysterious Boys, Rain and Wellington Boots

Library Loot: Mysterious Boys, Rain and Wellington Boots

 


libraryloot29thjune

 


I have read so many books that I might not otherwise have had the opportunity to access, all thanks to libraries. I have been an avid reader and user of libraries for as long as I can remember and visited at least once, if not twice a week throughout my childhood. Even now, as an adult, I love browsing the shelves and discovering new worlds in the pages of books.

Here’s what I borrowed this week:


The Cantankerous Molly Darling by Alvy Carragher


Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison!

Molly Darling wants life to be as simple as wellies and porridge – this is rural Ireland after all. Instead, Mum’s hiding in the attic; Dad’s run away, leaving only a PowerPoint to explain; her sister has a ham sandwich for a fiance; there’s a boy and THE silence; her BFF will stop at nothing to go viral; and the chickens are missing. It’s enough to make any girl cantankerous. But she’ll fix it all. Easy, right?

I picked this one up thanks to a recommendation from my friend Louise (@BookMurmuration) and because I like to support writers from home!


Shine by Candy Gourlay


This is not a ghost story even though there are plenty of ghosts in it. And it’s not a horror story though some people might be horrified. It’s not a monster story either, even though there is a monster in it and that monster happens to be me.

Forced to hide herself away from the superstitious island community of Mirasol, thirteen-year-old Rosa seeks solace online. There she meets Ansel95, and as the friendship moves from virtual to real, Rosa discovers that she’s not the only one with something to hide..

From the author of the critically-acclaimed Tall Story, comes a haunting, intense and moving novel which weaves myths and ghosts into a modern setting. As Rosa’s social life blossoms, how will she seize the freedom to be who she really is?

I recently picked up Bone Talk by the same author and has heard good things about this book too so grabbed a copy to add to the to-be-read pile!


Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy by Karen Foxlee


A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn’t believe in anything that can’t be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia’s help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy’s own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

I hadn’t actually heard of this until I saw The Star-spun Web being recommended for readers who had previously enjoyed this. I loved The Star-spun Web so decided to track this one down too. Luckily, my local library had a copy on the shelf!


The Garden of Lost Secrets by A. M. Howell


October 1916. Clara is sent to stay with her formidable aunt and uncle in the grounds of a country estate. Clara soon discovers that her new surroundings hold secrets: a locked room and a hidden key and a mysterious boy who only appears in the gardens at night. But can Clara face up to her secrets and a war she’s desperate to forget?

I have been wanting to read this one for ages – everything about the summary just sounds brilliant!


libraryloot29thjune


What did you think of my choices this week?

Did you spot any you might read?


librarylootbadge

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.


See my previous library loots here:

Mysteries, Paris and Hope

Feminism, Folklore and Body Positivity

Gymnastics, Mermaids and Achieving Your Dreams

Birds, Cages and Secrets

Dragons, Magic and Fairytales

Sequels and Secrets

Outer Space, Winter and Magic

Witches and War

Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Magic, Romance, More Magic

UK YA Bests

Aliens, Fences and Fairies

War, Hope and Storms

Clockwork, Curses and Fossils

Family, Dreams and Secret Agents

Magic, Memory and Climate Change

Independence, Love and Being Different

Society, Magic and Warriors

Dragons, Villains and Lost Property

Quests, Ghosts and Swimming

Invisible Women, Peer Pressure and Folklore

 


What do you think of the books I have chosen?

Would you like to read any of them?

Are there any you would recommend me moving straight to the top of the TBR list?

Do you have a library near you?

How often do you borrow books?

Do you ever buy books after having already read them? (I do, all the time!)


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. The Garden of Lost Secrets is absolutely WONDERFUL- it reminded me a great deal of early Emma Carroll! I liked Molly Darling as well 😊
    The last thing I got out of the library was Return to Wonderland, the other day 😊. Are you planning to read that?
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am excited to read both of those! I will probably read Return to Wonderland at some point too, but who knows. I am terrible for just picking up whatever I’m in the mood for so cannot stick to a to-be-read list! x

      Like

  2. bingingonabudget says:

    Thanks for sharing, which of these do you think you’ll enjoy reading most?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am looking forward to all of them, but particularly The Garden of Lost Secrets as I have heard so many good things about it!

      Like

  3. So pleased you picked up TCMD. Hope you love it as much as I did and do give me your expert opinion on the setting.

    Like

  4. Rachael says:

    I’m looking forward to The Garden of Lost Secrets. Enjoy your library haul!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am really looking forward to reading The Garden of Lost Secrets too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rachael says:

        I’m a chapter in, so far so good!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good to know! I will get around to it at some point soon, although who knows when as I am a changeable mood reader!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.