Six for Sunday: Perfect Pool Reads

Six for Sunday: Perfect Pool Reads


S4S poolsidereads

 


Oops, I’ve missed a few weeks of #SixforSunday and some great prompts too! This week the prompt is for six books that would be perfect to read next to the pool. I don’t think that I will be spending much time next to the pool this summer, but I do have a pond in my back garden so I guess that counts!

Here are six books I am looking forward to reading next to the pool (pond!) this summer:


We Won An Island by Charlotte Lo


When Luna’s family win an island, Luna thinks it will solve everything AND she can finally get a donkey! But things don’t go entirely to plan – no one expects Luna’s younger brother to win a Sheep Pageant, for example – and the secret festival they hold soon spirals out of control. But the island is beautiful, and the family are happy, and maybe Luna will get her donkey after all…

Every time I read the description for this it sounds like my sort of book! It seems especially suited to reading during the summer due to being set on an island and featuring donkeys, sheep pageants and festivals.


Love and Gelato by JennaEvans Welch


The dying wish of 16-year-old Lina’s mother was for her daughter to live in Tuscany and get to know her father, whom Lina has never met.

“Howard is the best man I’ve ever known,” her mother says, “he’ll keep you safe.” Why did her mother wait so long to tell her about him? Lina has a happy life in Seattle and doesn’t want to leave. Shortly after she arrives at Howard’s home, Lina meets Sonya, who gives Lina a diary that belonged to Lina’s mother, the one she had kept while she was a photography student in Florence. While Lina is living her life and exploring Tuscany with her handsome neighbour, Ren, she follows in the footsteps of her mother and gets to know her as never before. She also finds out the truth about her father. Mostly she finds out about herself.

As I have mentioned before, contemporary YA is very hit-or-miss for me, but the fact that this one is set in Tuscany made me want to pick it up. It sounds like quite a light summer read and I am hoping that it will bring back memories of living in Tuscany nine (!!) years ago! I recognise the Florentine skyline from the front cover and I adored living there for six months.


Legend by Marie Lu


What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

I bought the entire trilogy of this and The Young Elites series when I saw them on offer in The Works, but have yet to read any of them so I figure that I had better get started. I enjoyed Warcross and Wildcard by this author, and I have a soft spot for dystopian books so I hope that I’ll enjoy this!


S4S poolsidereads


A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood


Growing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer, seventeen-year-old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years. And when the owners arrive for the summer – a handsome, dashing brother and sister – Lou is quite swept off her feet and into a world of moonlit cocktail parties and glamour beyond her wildest dreams.

But, as she grows closer to the Cardews, is she abandoning her own ambitions… And is there something darker lurking at the heart of the Cardew family?

A gorgeously dreamy coming-of-age romance set against a stunning Gatsby-esque backdrop, this is perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle and Eva Ibbotson.

I have no idea why I haven’t read this yet, as it sounds brilliant and I have heard good things about it from friends and other bloggers. I was so sure that I would like it that I bought a copy when it first came out, but have yet to read it. I love I Capture the Castle and Eva Ibbotson and am looking forward to the Cornish setting.


Rumblestar by Abi Elphinstone


‘Imaginative, adventurous and wonderful’ Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike series 
‘The Unmapped Chronicles series is irresistible’ Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe
‘Abi Elphinstone has created a complete world so believably and effortlessly, I can only marvel’ Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild Trilogy 
‘Brimming with enchantment and adventure’ Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper’s Island
‘Abi Elphinstone is proving to be a worthy successor to CS Lewis’ The Times

‘Adventures are unpredictable and often terribly badly behaved – a bit like pickled onions if you’ve ever tried to fork one on a plate – but they have a way of unlocking people and turning them upside down so that all the astonishing things fizzing around inside them start to tumble out…’

Eleven-year-old Casper Tock hates risks, is allergic to adventures and shudders at the thought of unpredictable events. So, it comes as a nasty shock to him when he accidentally stumbles into Rumblestar, an Unmapped Kingdom full of magical beasts.
 
All Casper wants is to find a way home, but Rumblestar is in trouble. An evil harpy called Morg is sending her followers, the Midnights, into the kingdom to wreak havoc and pave the way for her to steal the Unmapped magic for herself. But Casper cannot turn a blind eye because the future of his own world, he discovers, is bound up with that of the Unmapped Kingdoms. 

And so, together with Utterly Thankless, a girl who hates rules and is allergic to behaving, and her miniature dragon, Arlo, Casper embarks upon an adventure full of cloud giants, storm ogres and drizzle hags. Can he, Utterly and Arlo, the unlikeliest of heroes, save the Unmapped Kingdoms and our world from the clutches of Morg and her Midnights?

Live a life filled with adventure with Abi Elphinstone in this brand NEW series where a whole new world is waiting to be discovered…

I have loved everything that Abi Elphinstone has written so I am sure that I am going to love the Unmapped Chronicles just as much, if not more! I listed 5 reasons why I am excited to read this in a Waiting on Wednesday post, but I now have my own copy ready to be devoured!


Brightstorm by Vashti Hardy


Twins Arthur and Maudie receive word in Lontown that their famous explorer father died in a failed attempt to reach South Polaris. Not only that, but he has been accused of trying to steal fuel from his competitors before he died! The twins don’t believe the news, and they answer an ad to help crew a new exploration attempt in the hope of learning the truth and salvaging their family’s reputation. As the winged ship Aurora sets sail, the twins must keep their wits about them and prove themselves worthy of the rest of the crew. But will Arthur and Maudie find the answers they seek?

This is one that I really must read because I just know that I will love it!


S4S poolsidereads

 


What did you think of my choices this week?

Do you have any books that you are planning to read by the pool this summer?


#SixforSunday is created by Steph from A Little But a Lot.


Check out some of my previous weeks of #SixforSunday here:

Books I would like to see as movies

Book characters I would like to stuck in a lift with

Animal companions in children’s books

Book characters I would like to be friends with

Book characters to avoid

Most exciting 2018 releases

Favourite books of 2018 so far

Favourite places to read

Favourite snacks to eat while reading

Favourite books that nobody has heard of

Questions for Authors

Questions for Publishers

Questions I always get asked

Rainbow Books

Metallic Books

Books that have made me laugh

Books that have made me cry

Books that have made me want to shout

Auto-buy authors

Books people are always telling me to read

Books that have been on the TBR pile forever

Favourite blog posts

Advice for bloggers

Favourite series/trilogies

Books I want to reread

Books I wish I had as a teen

Dream Bookish Events

Authors who should collaborate

Characters I want to see together

2018 Bookish Highlights

New Year, New Books

Bookish Wishes

Bookish Loves

Bookish Hates

Favourite LGBT Books

Favourite LGBT Characters

Childhood favourites

2019 kidlit must-reads

2018 books everyone needs to read

2018 books I need to reread

2019 books I want to read

2019 books I’m excited for

Books I Want To Be Written

Characters who deserve their own book

Baddies who deserve their own book

Couples who need a sequel

Fictional characters I want to befriend

Sunshine

If you like, link your #SixforSunday posts below and I will check them out!


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram

Thanks for reading!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Susan says:

    I think this is one of those I’ll go and stand in the corner with the dunce cap on things… I couldn’t get into Marie Lu. I tried. Hell I bought Warcross myself. I even finished it. I just couldn’t. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked Warcross, but didn’t enjoy Wildcard as much. Those are the only two that I’ve read by Marie Lu, but I have heard so many great things about her books that I feel like I should give some of her earlier series a try! I get the impression from the summaries that they are quite different from Warcross so maybe give them a try even if you didn’t get along with Warcross? I know plenty of people who didn’t really like it either!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Susan says:

        Are they older than Warcross .. clarification… meant for an older spectrum of YA? I have had many say that Warcross was meant for a much younger audience than her other books. Maybe that is part of it?

        Like

  2. All of the ones I’ve read from this list are brilliant, so I really hope you enjoy them! I’ve had Love and Gelato on my TBR for years and just never got to it 🙈🙈
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It just sounds perfect for a summer read, doesn’t it? All of the others are ones that I have been meaning to read for ages!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really does!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lilyfae says:

    The ones I’ve read from here (we won an island, Rumblestar and Brightstorm) are wonderful!! I would like to read a sky painted gold too though!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have heard great things about all those on the list, but I am terrible for really wanting to read a book and then picking up something different – I can never predict what I will read next! I have already bought Rumblestar and Brightstorm, so just need to get my hands on a copy of We Won an Island too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lilyfae says:

        We won an Island is something wonderful!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.