Library Loot: Opposites, Worries and Families

Library Loot: Opposites,Worries and Families


libraryloot 12th october

 


I couldn’t miss posting my library loot this week, at the end of Libraries Week in the U.K. , which celebrates this amazing service and all the help and support it provides for people in the community at every stage of their lives. Borrowing books from the library gives you access to books that you might not otherwise be able to read, as well as supporting authors.

Here is what I borrowed from my library this week:


All The Things That Could Go Wrong by Stewart Foster


A moving and beautifully written story about what can happen when two completely different boys are forced to put aside their differences, for fans of Wonder.

There are two sides to every story.

Alex’s OCD is so severe that it’s difficult for him to even leave his house some days. His classmate Dan is so angry that he lashes out at the easiest target he can find at school: Alex. When their moms arrange for Alex and Dan to spend time together over winter break, it seems like a recipe for certain disaster…until it isn’t. Once forced together, these two sworn enemies discover that there is much more to each other than they ever knew.

This book has been recommended to me by several people, including quite a lot of fellow teachers so I am really looking forward to reading it, even though I am pretty sure that I am going to cry my eyes out during it!


The Girl With Space in Her Heart by Lara Williamson


Mabel has a suitcase full of worries – it turned up just after her dad disappeared and before her mum started dating Gavin. She worries about big things and little things and shoves them into her suitcase until it’s so full it might explode… Fourth title from critically-acclaimed author of A Boy Called Hope and The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair (shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award 2015) and Just Call Me Spaghetti-Hoop Boy. Thought-provoking, heartwarming and laugh-out-loud funny. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Annabel Pitcher and Frank Cottrell Boyce. 

Lara Williamson is an auto-buy author for me as I have loved all of her books and the tenderness with which she writes about the difficulties of everyday life from the perspective of children. I am sure that this book will be no exception as Mabel has already captured my heart from the blurb alone!


The Monster Who Wasn’t by T.C. Shelley


A brilliantly rich and strange fantasy adventure that will make us all believe in monsters – be they good, bad or somewhere in between.

It is a well-known fact that fairies are born from a baby’s first laugh. What is not as well documented is how monsters come into being …

This is the story of a creature who is both strange and unique. When he hatches down in the vast underground lair where monsters dwell, he looks just like a human boy – much to the disgust of everyone watching. Even the grumpy gargoyles who adopt him and nickname him ‘Imp’ only want him to steal chocolate for them from the nearby shops. He’s a child with feet in both worlds, and he doesn’t know where he fits.

But little does Imp realise that Thunderguts, king of the ogres, has a great and dangerous destiny in mind for him, and he’ll stop at nothing to see it come to pass …

I picked this up from the ‘Newly Arrived’ shelf in the library without really knowing anything about it, but the blurb has me intrigued. Plus, it is the perfect time of year to be reading about goblins and ghouls! Makes me think of The Spiderwick Chronicles, which I loved so I am looking forward to reading this too.


libraryloot 12th october


The Princess Who Flew With Dragons by Stephanie Burgis


Princess Sofia of Drachenheim is sick of being used for her older sister’s political gains. At twelve years old, she’s already been a hostage to invading dragons and a promised future fiancé to a wicked fairy. Her only comfort lies in writing letters to her pen pal and best friend–Jasper, a young dragon whom she’s never even met.

When Sofia’s older sister sends her on a diplomatic mission to far-off Villenne, she’s meant to play the part of a charming, smiling princess. But when an accident leads to her exile from the city, Sofia is free to wander as she pleases for the first time in her life. And when Jasper’s food-mage sister Aventurine turns him into a human boy, Sofia thinks life can’t get any better. Until… the legendary ice giants of the north attack, trying to reclaim the territory that they lost centuries ago. With the dragons and royals frozen in ice, can Sofia and Jasper save their families and kingdom?

Another enchanting and strong-hearted fantasy, set in the same world as The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and The Girl with the Dragon Heart.

I absolutely adore this series and find reading it is like having a chat with an old friend or curling up in a nice warm blanket – perfect middle-grade fiction! (See my review of The Girl With the Dragon Heart here) I am really looking forward to seeing more from Princess Sofia in this one because she is determined to make her own way in the world, despite her big sister!


The Boy With The Butterfly Mind by Victoria Williamson


Jamie Lee just wants to be normal but his ADHD isn’t making it easy. If only he could control his butterfly mind then he’d have friends, be able to keep out of trouble, live with his mum and not be sent to stay with his dad.

Elin Watts just wants to be perfect. If she could be the best student and daughter possible, then maybe her dad would leave his new family and come back to Glasgow to live with Elin and her mum, happily ever after.

When Jamie and Elin’s families blend, the polar opposites of chaotic Jamie and ordered Elin collide. As their lives spiral out of control, Jamie and Elin discover that they’re actually more alike than they’d admit. Maybe there’s no such thing as normal, or perfect. And perhaps, just like families, happy-ever-afters come in all shapes and sizes.

Uplifting and moving, The Boy with the Butterfly Mind is an inspiring story of acceptance, blended families, and discovering that in the end, being yourself is more than enough.

This just sounds like such a beautiful and important story. I am looking forward to reading about Jamie and Elin’s family and finding out how they fit together.


libraryloot 12th october


What did you think of my choices this week?

Did you spot any you might read?


librarylootbadge

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.


See my previous library loots here:

Mysteries, Paris and Hope

Feminism, Folklore and Body Positivity

Gymnastics, Mermaids and Achieving Your Dreams

Birds, Cages and Secrets

Dragons, Magic and Fairytales

Sequels and Secrets

Outer Space, Winter and Magic

Witches and War

Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Magic, Romance, More Magic

UK YA Bests

Aliens, Fences and Fairies

War, Hope and Storms

Clockwork, Curses and Fossils

Family, Dreams and Secret Agents

Magic, Memory and Climate Change

Independence, Love and Being Different

Society, Magic and Warriors

Dragons, Villains and Lost Property

Quests, Ghosts and Swimming

Invisible Women, Peer Pressure and Folklore

Mysterious Boys, Rain and Wellington Boots

Bravery, Love and Loneliness

Middle Grade Madness


What do you think of the books I have chosen?

Would you like to read any of them?

Are there any you would recommend me moving straight to the top of the TBR list?

Do you have a library near you?

How often do you borrow books?

Do you ever buy books after having already read them? (I do, all the time!)


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Have really enjoyed the three of these I’ve read, especially the Stephanie Burgis one, and I also have the Monster Who Wasn’t out on loan. My most recent borrows were on Saturday: Finding Hope at Hillside Farm, Tilly and the Lost Fairytales and the Places I’ve Cried in Public! Always really like these posts 😊
    Amy x

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.