Waiting on Wednesday: The Forest of Ghosts and Bones

Waiting on Wednesday: The Forest of Ghosts and Bones


forestofghostsandbones


The Forest of Ghosts and Bones

Written by Lisa Lueddecke

400 pages

Published by Scholastic

Publication date: 7th May 2020


Summary (from Goodreads):

This gorgeously evocative standalone fantasy from Lisa Lueddecke is inspired by the Hungarian myths of her childhood. Enter a world with a haunted castle, a dark and dangerous forest and poisoned rain, with two fiery protagonists to root for – a book perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Laini Taylor.

You are the girl who can walk in the rain, and I am the boy who knows the way. The Eve of Saints approaches and the poison rain which shrouds Castle Marcosza strains at its boundaries. When Beata’s brother is taken by the rain, Beata and her friend Benedek must make a perilous journey of discovery to uncover the root of her secret – why she is the only person who can walk through the rain unscathed. But Beata is soon caught up in a game of cat-and-mouse with mysterious Liljana, a girl with hidden powers of her own. And with magic outlawed in Marcosza, can the pair find a way to work together to harness their forbidden ability and unleash its full potential? Or will they find themselves seduced by power and all that it offers…


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • Long-time readers of this blog won’t be surprised to see this on my list of anticipated titles for 2020, because it’s fantasy and I adore fantasy! I have also read and really enjoyed both of this author’s previous books
  • It is inspired by Hungarian myths – I am always here for books inspired by folklore, myths and fairytales.
  • It is a standalone – as much as I love really digging down into a world in a series, I really love the completeness of a standalone.
  • It has a haunted castle, dangerous woods and poisoned rain – I already want to know so much more about this world!
  • It not only has magic, but magic is outlawed. Brilliant I really enjoy books where magic is something complicated, rather than simply a tool to get what you want. Magic where there is an extreme cost to using it or it has unexpected side effects, etc.
  • This book just sounds like it was written for me – I can’t wait to read it!

 


What do you think?

Does this sound like the kind of book you would enjoy?

Will you be reading this or do you have any other anticipated releases you would recommend to me?

Let me know in the comments!


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here: When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, Starfish, The Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia Unleashed, Bright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Empress of All Seasons, Tempests and Slaughter, Grim Lovelies, The Glass of Lead and Gold, Storm Witch, The Way Past Winter, The Gilded Wolves,Fierce Fairytales, Descendant of the Crane. Dragon Pearl,Last of Her Name. The Familars. A Pinch of Magic, A Witch Come True, The Winter of the Witch. Once Upon a River, A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Shadowscent, Romanov. Echo North, The Wicked King, The Priory of the Orange Tree, Spin the Dawn, Master of Sorrows, Asha and the Spirit Bird, A Treason of Thorns, We Rule The Night, Perfectly Preventable Deaths, Collision, Rumblestar, The Last Spell Breather, The Starless Sea, The Lost Tide Warriors, The Princess Who Flew With Dragons, Containment. House of Salt and Sorrows, Sanctuary, Stronger than a Bronze Dragon, Gumiho/Wicked Fox, Pan’s Labyrinth, The Kingdom, The Taste of Rain, The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Chinglish, Winterwood, Harley in the Sky, Into the Crooked Place, Butterfly Yellow, Seven Deadly Shadows, Shadows of Winterspell, Wicked as You Wish, The Silvered Serpents, Feathertide, Break The Fall, Deep and Darkest Red, Rogue Princess.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Hazel Wood, Tangleweed and Brine, Summer Bird Blue, The Pretender or The Gilded King?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess@thebookofjess says:

    Great review, Christina. It sounds like something I’d be into.
    Hope you (and the baby!) are doing well! 💕
    Love, Jess.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Baby is going to be arriving soon so I’m not sure how much time I will actually have to read, lol. I am really looking forward to this book as it sounds like I will lvoe it! Hope you enjoy it if you pick it up!

      Like

      1. Jess@thebookofjess says:

        Thank you! Hope everything goes well! I’m really excited for you!🌌

        Like

  2. I am so excited for this one! I’m also a huge fan of books centered around mythology/folklore so when this popped up on my twitter feed I instantly added it to my TBR on Goodreads. I hope you enjoy it 😀

    Like

  3. This sounds so good. The cover is stunning too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.