Waiting on Wednesday: The Circus Rose

Waiting on Wednesday: The Circus Rose


thecircusrose

 


The Circus Rose

Written by Betsy Cornwell

304 pages

Published by Clarion Books

Publication date: 16th June 2020


Summary (from Goodreads):
From a  New York Times  bestselling author, a queer retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red” in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor.

Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother’s knee, and after years on the road, they’re returning to Port End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie’s tightrope act, disaster strikes.

In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it’s up to Ivory and her magician love—with the help of a dancing bear—to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it’s too late.


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • Fairytale retelling = I  immediately want to read it! I also love the original story of Snow White and Rose Red, yet it is a less popular fairy tale so I am interested to see how it will inspire a retelling.
  • Circus setting – this is another thing which immediately attracts me to a book! Anything to do with the circus and I am in!
  • The summary mentions found family, one of my favourite tropes in fiction. I lvoe the idea that family can be people who are not related to you by blood, but bound to you through experience.
  • The theme of religious extremism sounds like one that could be quite sensitive and touchy, yet it is also fascinating to look at how religion and belief can have such power to drive people’s actions, whether for better or worse. I can imagine this clashing with the magic of the circus, so this is something I am looking forward to exploring.
  • I love sibling relationships, particularly when they are full of conflicted loyalty – looking forward to learning more about Rosie and Ivory, the two sisters at the heart of this novel!

What do you think?

Does this sound like the kind of book you would enjoy?

Will you be reading this or do you have any other anticipated releases you would recommend to me?

Let me know in the comments!


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here: When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, Starfish, The Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia Unleashed, Bright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Empress of All Seasons, Tempests and Slaughter, Grim Lovelies, The Glass of Lead and Gold, Storm Witch, The Way Past Winter, The Gilded Wolves,Fierce Fairytales, Descendant of the Crane. Dragon Pearl,Last of Her Name. The Familars. A Pinch of Magic, A Witch Come True, The Winter of the Witch. Once Upon a River, A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Shadowscent, Romanov. Echo North, The Wicked King, The Priory of the Orange Tree, Spin the Dawn, Master of Sorrows, Asha and the Spirit Bird, A Treason of Thorns, We Rule The Night, Perfectly Preventable Deaths, Collision, Rumblestar, The Last Spell Breather, The Starless Sea, The Lost Tide Warriors, The Princess Who Flew With Dragons, Containment. House of Salt and Sorrows, Sanctuary, Stronger than a Bronze Dragon, Gumiho/Wicked Fox, Pan’s Labyrinth, The Kingdom, The Taste of Rain, The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Chinglish, Winterwood, Harley in the Sky, Into the Crooked Place, Butterfly Yellow, Seven Deadly Shadows, Shadows of Winterspell, Wicked as You Wish, The Silvered Serpents, Feathertide, Break The Fall, Deep and Darkest Red, Rogue Princess, The Forest of Ghosts and Bones, The Foundling, Special Edition, Orphans of the Tide, Thorn. or Seasons of the Storm.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Hazel Wood, Tangleweed and Brine, Summer Bird Blue, The Pretender or The Gilded King?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.