Book Review: Time School

Time School Written by Nikki Young 112 pages Published by Troubadour Publishing Publication date: 28th June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): A power cut and a series of mini disasters means friends, Jess, Nadia, Tomma and Ash barely make it to the station to catch their train to school. What they find is a far cry…

Book Review: Run Wild

Run Wild Written by Gill Lewis 96 pages Published by Barrington Stoke Publication date: 15th July 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Award-winning author Gill Lewis makes her debut to the Barrington Stoke list with a stunning tale of the wild that hides in us all. Run Wild is a thought-provoking and touching story that celebrates the…

Book Review: The Storm Keeper’s Island

The Storm Keeper’s Island Written by Catherine Doyle 320 pages Published by Bloomsbury UK Publication date: 12th July 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘Magical in every way’ EOIN COLFER ‘Funny, dark and blazingly beautiful’ KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE ‘So magical and wild that it’s like being swept away by the sea’ KATHERINE RUNDELL Fionn Boyle and his…

Book Review: Running from the Sky

Running from the Sky Written by Amanda Malben 144 pages Published by Wrate’s Publishing Publication date: 30th May 2018 Summary (from Amazon): Three years into the civil war that has turned his country upside down, Sami’s home village in Syria is hit by a deadly bomb attack and he is forced to leave behind everything…

Book Review: Just Don’t Mention It

Just Don’t Mention It Written by Estelle Maskame 470 pages Published by Ink Road Press Publication date: 21st June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Tyler Bruce – hell raiser and bad boy – tells his story in his own words. Alternating between past and present, Just Don’t Mention It is narrated from Tyler’s perspective. We see…

Book Review: The Gilded Shroud

The Gilded Shroud Written by Elizabeth Bailey 566 pages Published by Sapere Books Publication date: 21st June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): The perfect mix of historical murder and mystery with a hint of romance! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Barbara Erskine and Jane Austen. When a murder is committed a lady’s companion finds…

Book Review: Ascension

Ascension (Phobos Sequence 1 ) Written by Victor Dixen Translated by Daniel Hahn 488 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 28th June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘This thrilling space odyssey will keep you turning pages late into the night.’ C. J. Daugherty, author of NIGHT SCHOOL Six girls, six boys. Each in the…

Book Review: Houdini and the Five-Cent Circus

Houdini and the Five-Cent Circus Written by Keith Gray 112 pages Published by Barrington Stoke Publication date: 15th June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): The year is 1885 and Erik Weiss, a penniless immigrant, has found himself in trouble again. His uncanny talent for picking locks and his gleeful showboating to match it, have earned him…

Book Review: Lancelot (+Giveaway!)

Lancelot Written by Giles Kristian 512 pages Published by Bantam Press Publication date: 14th June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a 5th century post-Roman Britain besieged by invading war bands of Saxons and Franks, Irish and Picts, Giles Kristian’s epic new novel tells – through the warrior’s own words – the story of Lancelot,…

Book Review: Stuck

Stuck Written and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers 32 pages Published by Harper Collins Children’s Books Publication date: 26th April 2012 Summary (from Goodreads): From the illustrator of the #1 smash The Day the Crayons Quit comes another bestseller–a giggle-inducing tale of everything tossed, thrown, and hurled in order to free a kite! When Floyd’s kite…

Review of Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh

Originally posted on The Illustrated Page:
Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh. ★★★1/2 I’ve had a lot of bad luck with YA dystopia, but Rebel Seoul turned out to be a gem of the genre. In Neo Seoul, everyone is drafted into the military upon coming of age. Lee Jaewon’s escaped his past as a gang member in the slums of…

Dino Wars Giveaway Winners!

3142 AD. Humanity is on the verge of extinction after genetically engineered dinosaurs reclaimed the planet during the Dino Wars. Adam Caine lives in the secluded city of Bastion with other human survivors and peace-loving herbivores. When an old biological weapon that threatens all dinosaur life is activated, Adam knows it is down to him…