Book Review: Dragon Dancer

Book Review: Dragon Dancer Dragon Dancer Written by Joyce Chng Illustrated by Jérémy Pailler 38 pages Published by Lantana Publishing Publication date: 1st January 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): It is the eve of Chinese New Year. Lanterns are hung in the shopping malls and Yao is preparing to wake the ancient sky dragon, Shen Long,…

Review: The Dog Who Saved The World by Ross Welford

Originally posted on Book Murmuration:
Review: The Dog Who Saved The World by Ross Welford ? Extract: So that was it. Damage done. I had started the end of the world. Obviously, I didn’t know it at the time. I’ve kept the secret until now: how I handled the tennis ball that was infected with…

Book Review: Colour of People

Book Review: Colour of People Colour of People Illustrated by Mauricio Negro 32 pages Published by Little island Books Publication date: 5th July 2018 Summary (from the publisher): People come in different colours. But no matter what they look like, people all eat when they’re hungry, shiver when they’re cold, smile when they’re happy. Originally published in Brazil, this wordless…

Book Review: The Hairy Hand

Book Review: The Hairy Hand The Hairy Hand Written by Robin Bennett 203 pages Published by Monster Books Publication date: 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): With great power at the end of your fingers comes great trouble. Septimus feels out-of-place in his village, where everyone else his age is called Garp, Darg, Smerg or Blaarg. Good,…

Book Review: The Monkey King’s Daughter

The Monkey King’s Daughter Written by T. A. Bonis 148 pages Published by DVtvfilm.com Publication date: 1st June 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): The Monkey King’s Daughter isn’t about Sun Wukong, the Monkey King – it’s about his daughter, Meilin. Only, Meilin doesn’t know she’s the Monkey King’s daughter. In fact, she doesn’t know she’s half-monkey…

Book Review: Witch for a Week

Witch for a Week Written by Kaye Umansky Illustrated by Ashley King 182 pages Published by Simon and Schuster UK Publication date: 5th October 2017 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘A Bewitching tale, charmingly told and is certain to delight any witch in the making’ M.G, Leonard, award-winning author of Beetle Boy ‘A gorgeous story that bubbles…

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves Written by Roshani Chokshi 464 pages Published by Wednesday Books Publication date: 15th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a darkly glamorous world, The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition…

Book Review: The Girl King

The Girl King Written by Mimi Yu 496 pages Published by Gollancz/ Orion Publishing Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Sisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty’s first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

Book Review: The Dog That Saved Christmas

The Dog That Saved Christmas Written by Nicola Davies Illustrated by Mike Byrne 96 pages Published by Barrington Stoke Publication date: 15th October 2018 Summary (from Barrington Stoke): Christmas is a nightmare for Jake. He hates the bright lights, all the noise and the disruption to his routine. But everything changes when he finds a…

Book Review and Author Interview: Jaclyn and the Beanstalk by Mary Ting

Jaclyn and The Beanstalk Written by Mary Ting 276 pages Published by Vesuvian Books Publication date: 4th September 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): What fate awaits a girl who hears monsters at night… Sixteen-year-old Jaclyn looks up to her father. An honest man who once fought for the king, he now teaches Jaclyn how to use…

Book Review: #GalaxyGirl (+Giveaway!)

#GalaxyGirl Written by Bev Smith 250 pages Published by ACS Books Publication date: 29th November 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Twelve-year-old Esme’s best friend is an alien called Stella. When Stella returns to Planet Kratos, Esme – fed up with her mum’s new boyfriend – stows away on the spaceship. So begins Esme’s adventure into a…