Book Review: Witch for a Week

Witch for a Week Written by Kaye Umansky Illustrated by Ashley King 182 pages Published by Simon and Schuster UK Publication date: 5th October 2017 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘A Bewitching tale, charmingly told and is certain to delight any witch in the making’ M.G, Leonard, award-winning author of Beetle Boy  ‘A gorgeous story that bubbles…

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves Written by Roshani Chokshi 464 pages Published by Wednesday Books Publication date: 15th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a darkly glamorous world, The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition…

Book Review: The Girl King

The Girl King Written by Mimi Yu 496 pages Published by Gollancz/ Orion Publishing Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Sisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty’s first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

Book Review: The Dog That Saved Christmas

The Dog That Saved Christmas Written by Nicola Davies Illustrated by Mike Byrne 96 pages Published by Barrington Stoke Publication date: 15th October 2018 Summary (from Barrington Stoke): Christmas is a nightmare for Jake. He hates the bright lights, all the noise and the disruption to his routine. But everything changes when he finds a…

Book Review and Author Interview: Jaclyn and the Beanstalk by Mary Ting

Jaclyn and The Beanstalk Written by Mary Ting 276 pages Published by Vesuvian Books Publication date: 4th September 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): What fate awaits a girl who hears monsters at night… Sixteen-year-old Jaclyn looks up to her father. An honest man who once fought for the king, he now teaches Jaclyn how to use…

Book Review: #GalaxyGirl (+Giveaway!)

#GalaxyGirl Written by Bev Smith 250 pages Published by ACS Books Publication date: 29th November 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Twelve-year-old Esme’s best friend is an alien called Stella. When Stella returns to Planet Kratos, Esme – fed up with her mum’s new boyfriend – stows away on the spaceship. So begins Esme’s adventure into a…

Book Review: The Pirate Princess and the Golden Locket

The Pirate Princess and the Golden Locket Written by Suzanne Lowe 100 pages Published by Silvergum Publishing Publication date: 1st October 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): The first thrilling tale of adventure, friendship and discovery in the Pirate Princess series. Meet Lotty, the brave, young orphan whose life is about to change forever. When Lotty is…

Book Review: Made by Maxine

Book Review: Made by Maxine Made by Maxine 37 pages Written by Ruth Spiro Illustrated by Holly Hatam Published by Dial Books Publication date: 9th October 2018 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, B&N, iBooks, TBD Summary (from Goodreads): Meet Maxine, an inspiring young maker who knows that with enough effort and imagination (and mistakes), it’s possible to invent anything. Maxine loves…

Book Review: Bestiary

Bestiary Written by Christopher Masters 256 pages Published by Thames & Hudson in collaboration with the British Museum Publication date: 16th October 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Drawing on the world-leading scholarship and vast collections of the British Museum, Bestiary is a wonderful visual, thematic exploration of animals—real, surreal, and imaginary—as depicted on beautiful ritual objects…

Two books about World War One

Originally posted on Book Murmuration:
Reviews: Short titles about World War One.  White Feather by Catherine And David MacPhail The Great War is over but the grief has just begun. Tony’s brother Charlie did not return from the front. Instead of dying a hero’s death, Charlie was shot as a traitor for deserting his post.…

Book Review: Where the What If Roams

Where the What If Roams and the Moon is Louise Armstrong Written by Esther Krivda 668 pages Publication date: 27th January 2017 Published by Wobble Hill Press Summary (from Goodreads): Sophia Oomla leaves the talking world. When her teacher calls on her. When her classmates speak to her. But at midnight, when no one can…