Book Review: Mohinder’s War

Book Review: Mohinder’s War   Mohinder’s War Written by Bali Rai 176 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads) : A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical…

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets   44 Tiny Secrets Written by Sylvia Bishop Illustrated by Ashley King 192 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 23rd July 2020 Summary (from Little Tiger Press): The first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind THE…

Book Review: The Wonder Machine

Book Review: The Wonder Machine   The Wonder Machine Written by Barry Timms Illustrated by Laura Brenlla 24 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 5th September 2019 (hardback), 11th June 2020 (paperback) Summary (from Little Tiger): Haven’t you heard? Wolf is building a machine. A machine that makes dreams come true! “My greatest invention…

Read, Play, Learn: On the Farm

Read, Play, Learn: On the Farm   Read, Play Learn: On the Farm Due to my background in education, and the years I spent teaching in a Early Years setting, I have been unable to resist applying some of that experience to raising my own child – hence this series of ‘Read, Play Learn‘ posts…

Book Review: Baby Loves Earth

Book Review: Baby Loves Earth Baby Loves Earth Written by Jennifer Eckford Illustrated by Teresa Bellon 30 pages Published by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books Publication date: 2nd June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): E is for Elephant, T is for Tree, W is for Warming, and X is for eXtinct in this beautiful ABC book designed…

Mini-Reviews: Strange Houses

Mini-Reviews: Strange Houses   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Book Review: Cannonball Coralie and the Lion

Book Review: Cannonball Coralie and the Lion   Cannonball Coralie and the Lion Written and Illustrated by Grace Easton 40 pages Published by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books (The Quarto Group) Publication date: 19th May 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Coralie longs to join the circus but the Man in the Big Hat says her tricks just…

Library Loot: Nature Run Wild and Eco-Awareness

Library Loot: Nature Run Wild and Eco-Awareness   A Planet Full of Plastic  by Neal Layton Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it’s not meant to be. If it drops…

Mini-Reviews: Girls having Adventures

Mini-reviews: Girls having Adventures When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Library Loot: Non-fiction galore!

Library Loot: Non-fiction galore! Wow, it’s been an age since I posted one of these, despite the fact that I have been borrowing tonnes of books from the library, as always. I’m there at least once a week to pick up reservations and grab books from the ‘Recent Arrivals’ section, plus buy books in the…

Waiting on Wednesday: Orphans of the Tide

Waiting on Wednesday: Orphans of the Tide Orphans of the Tide Written by Struan Murray 352 pages Published by Puffin Books Publication date: 20th February 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A breathtaking middle grade debut for fans of Brightstorm and His Dark Materials. The City was built on a sharp mountain that jutted improbably from the…

Multicultural Children’s Book Day 2020

Multicultural Children’s Book Day – 31st January 2020   This is my third year taking part in supporting Multicultural Children’s Book Day and I am, as always, privileged to be able to take part and spread the message of inclusivity in books. See my posts about Multicultural Children’s Book Day for 2018 and 2019. Why…