Book Review: Witch for a Week

Witch for a Week Written by Kaye Umansky Illustrated by Ashley King 182 pages Published by Simon and Schuster UK Publication date: 5th October 2017 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘A Bewitching tale, charmingly told and is certain to delight any witch in the making’ M.G, Leonard, award-winning author of Beetle Boy  ‘A gorgeous story that bubbles…

Waiting on Wednesday: Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn Written by Elizabeth Lim 400 pages Published by Knopf Publication date: 30th July 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three…

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Priory of the Orange Tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree Written by Samantha Shannon 848 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 26th February 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): A world divided. A queendom without an heir. An ancient enemy awakens. The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a…

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves Written by Roshani Chokshi 464 pages Published by Wednesday Books Publication date: 15th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a darkly glamorous world, The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition…

Book Review: The Girl King

The Girl King Written by Mimi Yu 496 pages Published by Gollancz/ Orion Publishing Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Sisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty’s first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life…

Six for Sunday: New Year, New Books!

Six for Sunday: New Year, New Books! Welcome back to Six for Sunday! I missed quite a few of these at the end of 2018 due to life getting busy and a nasty cold that laid me low for a while. One of my resolutions for 2019 is to be be more organised with getting…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

GUEST POST – Joanna Ruth Meyer

Originally posted on Liv's Wonderful Escape:
Today I am delighted to have Joanna Ruth Meyer on my blog with her INCREDIBLE book, Echo North! Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart when her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wicked King

The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) Written by Holly Black 336 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring. The first lesson is to make yourself strong. After the jaw-dropping revelation that…

Waiting on Wednesday: Echo North

Echo North Written by Joanna Ruth Meyer ~400 pages Published by Page Street Kids Publication date:January 15th 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart after her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him half-frozen in the winter…

Book Review and Author Interview: Jaclyn and the Beanstalk by Mary Ting

Jaclyn and The Beanstalk Written by Mary Ting 276 pages Published by Vesuvian Books Publication date: 4th September 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): What fate awaits a girl who hears monsters at night… Sixteen-year-old Jaclyn looks up to her father. An honest man who once fought for the king, he now teaches Jaclyn how to use…