Waiting on Wednesday: We Rule the Night

Waiting on Wednesday: We Rule the Night We Rule The Night Written by Claire Eliza Bartlett 400 pages Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Publication date: 2nd April 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Two girls use forbidden magic to fly and fight–for their country and for themselves–in this riveting debut that’s part Shadow and…

Six for Sunday: Favourite LGBT Characters

Six for Sunday: Favourite LGBT Characters Welcome back to another week of #SixForSunday! This week the theme is favourite LGBT characters and, while I came up with some straightaway, others were more difficult. Here are a few of my favourite characters, who also happen to identify as LGBT: Magnus Bane from The Shadowhunters world ‘I…

Library Loot: Magic, Romance, More Magic

Library Loot: Magic, Romance, More Magic Great haul from my library this week – from this you can see that anything to do with magic is something I like to read! This week I have borrowed: Wundersmith by Jessica Townsend Return to the magical world of Nevermoor! Morrigan Crow’s perilous adventures continue in the most…

Waiting on Wednesday: Master of Sorrows

Master of Sorrows The Silent Gods #1 Written by Justin Travis Call 448 pages Published by Gollancz Publication date: 21st February 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): You have heard the story before – of a young boy, orphaned through tragic circumstances, raised by a wise old man, who comes to a fuller knowledge of his magic…

Book Review: Witch for a Week

Witch for a Week Written by Kaye Umansky Illustrated by Ashley King 182 pages Published by Simon and Schuster UK Publication date: 5th October 2017 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘A Bewitching tale, charmingly told and is certain to delight any witch in the making’ M.G, Leonard, award-winning author of Beetle Boy ‘A gorgeous story that bubbles…

Waiting on Wednesday: Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn Written by Elizabeth Lim 400 pages Published by Knopf Publication date: 30th July 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three…

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Priory of the Orange Tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree Written by Samantha Shannon 848 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 26th February 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): A world divided. A queendom without an heir. An ancient enemy awakens. The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a…

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves Written by Roshani Chokshi 464 pages Published by Wednesday Books Publication date: 15th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a darkly glamorous world, The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition…

Book Review: The Girl King

The Girl King Written by Mimi Yu 496 pages Published by Gollancz/ Orion Publishing Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Sisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty’s first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life…

Six for Sunday: New Year, New Books!

Six for Sunday: New Year, New Books! Welcome back to Six for Sunday! I missed quite a few of these at the end of 2018 due to life getting busy and a nasty cold that laid me low for a while. One of my resolutions for 2019 is to be be more organised with getting…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…