Waiting on Wednesday: Master of Sorrows

Master of Sorrows The Silent Gods #1 Written by Justin Travis Call 448 pages Published by Gollancz Publication date: 21st February 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): You have heard the story before – of a young boy, orphaned through tragic circumstances, raised by a wise old man, who comes to a fuller knowledge of his magic…

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves Written by Roshani Chokshi 464 pages Published by Wednesday Books Publication date: 15th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a darkly glamorous world, The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

Waiting on Wednesday: Romanov

Waiting on Wednesday: Romanov Romanov Written by Nadine Brandes 352 pages Published by Thomas Nelson/ Harper Collins Publication date: 7th May 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): From the author of Fawkes comes a magical take on the story of Anastasia Romanov. The history books say I died. They don’t know the half of it. Anastasia “Nastya”…

Waiting on Wednesday: Once Upon A River

Waiting on Wednesday: Once Upon A River Once Upon a River Written by Diane Setterfield 480 pages Published by Doubleday Publication date: 17th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): A dark midwinter’s night in an ancient inn on the Thames. The regulars are entertaining themselves by telling stories when the door bursts open on an injured…

Book Review: Where the What If Roams

Where the What If Roams and the Moon is Louise Armstrong Written by Esther Krivda 668 pages Publication date: 27th January 2017 Published by Wobble Hill Press Summary (from Goodreads): Sophia Oomla leaves the talking world. When her teacher calls on her. When her classmates speak to her. But at midnight, when no one can…

Library Loot: Witches and War

Library Loot: Witches and War What did I get from the library this week? As always, I have added quite a few titles to the tottering TBR (to-be-read) pile! Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books…

Witches, witches everywhere!

I love books about witches and, as a perusal of my childhood shelves recently revealed to me, I always have! I can’t pinpoint exactly what it is about witchcraft that appeals to me so strongly, but I think it must have something to do with my fascination with magic, the superstitions and folktales I was…

Book Review: The Light Between Worlds

The Light Between Worlds Written by Laura Weymouth 416 pages Published by Chicken House Books Publication date: 1st November 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Five years ago, Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell cowered from air strikes in a London bomb shelter. But that night took a turn when the sisters were transported to another realm called the…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Winter of the Witch

The Winter of the Witch (Winternight Trilogy #3) Written by Katherine Arden 384 pages Published by Del Rey (Ebury Publishing) Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): One girl can make a difference… Moscow has burned nearly to the ground, leaving its people searching for answers – and someone to hold accountable. Vasya finds…

Book Review: West (+ Giveaway!)

West Written by Edith Pattou 528 pages Published by HMH Books for Young Readers Publication date: 23rd October 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): From the author of the beloved high fantasy East, a thrilling tale of true love, magic, adventure, and revenge. When Rose first met Charles, he was trapped in the form of a white…

Book Review: North Child /East

East / North Child Written by Edith Patou 512 pages Published by HMH / Usborne Publication date: 25th Februar7 2006 (original ) 23rd October 2018 (re-release) Summary ( from Goodreads): This is a beguiling epic of magic, love, loss and betrayal based on the traditional fairytale “East of the Sun, West of the Moon”. The…