Book Rainbow: Orange Books Part 4

Exciting times! We have been living in our apartment now for more than 2 years. When we first moved in it was completely unfurnished, but we didn’t want to spend lots of money buying furniture when we are only renting and were worried that some of the furniture might not fit when we move into…

Happy book birthday!

I don’t know what it is about the 8th February but there are an insane number of brilliant books out today from various publishers. I’m guessing it must be that they have realized that all of us bookworms are in need of a pick-me-up! I mean, it’s February – it’s cold and grey, Christmas cheer…

Book Review: Sunflowers in February

Sunflowers in February Written by Phyllida Shrimpton 384 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th February 2018 Age range: 13+ Summary (from Goodreads): Lily wakes up one crisp Sunday morning on the side of the road. She has no idea how she got there. It is all very peaceful. and very beautiful. It is…

Book Review: The Hazel Wood

The Hazel Wood Written by Melissa Albert 400 pages Published by Penguin Random House Publication date: 8th February 2018 Age range: 15+ Summary (from Goodreads): Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the strange bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s…

Tomorrow is going to be a good day!

Just received this notification from Amazon: Arriving tomorrow! I’m so excited to read this! The Bear and The Nightingale was one of my favourite reads of 2017 and I have been counting down the days until I could get my hands on a copy of the second book in the trilogy, The Girl in the…

Review: The Extinction Trials by S.M. Wilson

Originally posted on Book Murmuration :
Extract: ‘How do we really know what the dinosaurs are like? Maybe they’re not all horrible people-eating monsters, maybe some of them are fine. How do we actually know? Maybe this is the only way we’ll ever get to find out … ‘ (The Extinction Trials by SM Wilson. P100.) Synopsis:…

Book Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters

Love, Hate and Other Filters Written by Samira Ahmed 288 pages Published by Hotkey Books Publication date: 16th January 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera….

Book Review: The Cruel Prince

The Cruel Prince Written by Holly Black 384 pages Published by Bonnier Zaffre (Hot Key Books) Publication date: 2nd January 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever. And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I…

Book Review: Wolf Children

Wolf Children Written by Paul Dowswell 290 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 24th August 2017 Age range: 13 + Summary (from Goodreads): It is July 1945, Hitler’s Third Reich has fallen, and Berlin is in ruins. Living on the edge of survival in the cellar of an abandoned hospital, Otto and his ragtag gang…

Book Review: Nyxia

Nyxia Written by Scott Reintgen 384 pages Published by Michael Joseph (Penguin UK) Publication date: 12th September 2017 Age range: 14+ Summary (from Goodreads): Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship…

Book Review: Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index Written by Julie Israel Published by Penguin 338 pages Age range: YA (13 +) Publication date: 1st June 2017 (Note for parents/ teachers: Themes of grief, depression and domestic violence.) Summary (from Goodreads): It’s hard to keep close a person everyone keeps telling you is gone. It’s been sixty-five painful days…

Book Review: A Skinful of Shadows (sampler)

A Skinful of Shadows Written by Francis Hardinge 416 pages Published by Macmillian Age range: YA, 12 + Summary: (from Goodreads) Frances Hardinge weaves another darkly extraordinary tale in A Skinful of Shadows, her follow up to the Costa Award-winning novel The Lie Tree ‘Hardinge is an unusual talent who deserves to be read by…