Book Review: Dragon Dancer

Book Review: Dragon Dancer Dragon Dancer Written by Joyce Chng Illustrated by Jérémy Pailler 38 pages Published by Lantana Publishing Publication date: 1st January 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): It is the eve of Chinese New Year. Lanterns are hung in the shopping malls and Yao is preparing to wake the ancient sky dragon, Shen Long,…

Book Review: Welcome to Our World

Book Review: Welcome to Our World   Welcome to Our World Written by Moira Butterfield Illustrated by Harriet Lynas 64 pages Published by Nosy Crow Publication date: 7th June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Children all over the world are very different, but they also have much in common. In this beautifully illustrated book, young children…

Book Review: The Monkey King’s Daughter

The Monkey King’s Daughter Written by T. A. Bonis 148 pages Published by DVtvfilm.com Publication date: 1st June 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): The Monkey King’s Daughter isn’t about Sun Wukong, the Monkey King – it’s about his daughter, Meilin. Only, Meilin doesn’t know she’s the Monkey King’s daughter. In fact, she doesn’t know she’s half-monkey…

Multicultural Children’s Book Day 2019

Multicultural Children’s Book Day – 25th January 2019 I took part in Multicultural Children’s Book Day last year for the first time and was super excited to be involved again this year. It is an annual event designed to raise awareness of diverse books and get more people reading and sharing the wide range of…

Year of the Asian Reading Challenge

Year of the Asian Reading Challenge Why am I attempting to do this reading challenge? I am terrible at completing reading challenges because I am a complete mood reader and therefore struggle to read books as soon as I have told myself that I should read them! However, I am going to make a special…

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it…

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves Written by Roshani Chokshi 464 pages Published by Wednesday Books Publication date: 15th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Set in a darkly glamorous world, The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition…

Book Review: The Girl King

The Girl King Written by Mimi Yu 496 pages Published by Gollancz/ Orion Publishing Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Sisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty’s first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

GUEST POST – Joanna Ruth Meyer

Originally posted on Liv's Wonderful Escape:
Today I am delighted to have Joanna Ruth Meyer on my blog with her INCREDIBLE book, Echo North! Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart when her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him…

5 Simple Steps to Learn a New Language

5 Simple Steps to Learn a New Language Happy New Year! Is one of your New Year’s resolutions this year to learn a new skill, such as a foreign language? Learning a new language provides multiple benefits, including improving your executive functioning, ability to switch between tasks and encouraging you to learn about another culture,…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wicked King

The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) Written by Holly Black 336 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring. The first lesson is to make yourself strong. After the jaw-dropping revelation that…