Book Review: The Island Child

Book Review: The Island Child   The Island Child Written by Molly Aitken 320 pages Published by Canongate Publication date: 30th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Twenty years ago, Oona left the island of Inis for the very first time. A wind-blasted rock of fishing boats and sheep’s wool, where the only book was the…

Six for Sunday: Books to take on an Autumn walk

Six for Sunday: Books to take on an Autumn walk   I love Autumn, especially those bright, crisp days when you can crunch through the leaves and enjoy the jewel-like colours of the foliage as the sun sparkles through them. Pairing books with a walk through an Autumn forest, plus perhaps a nice warm drink,…

Mini-Reviews: Mermaids

Mini-Reviews: Mermaids When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts to tell…

Book Review: Perfectly Preventable Deaths

Book Review: Perfectly Preventable Deaths Perfectly Preventable Deaths Written by Deirdre Sullivan 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 30th May 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Everyone in Ballyfran has a secret, and that is what binds them together… Fifteen-year-old twins Madeline and Catlin move to a new life in Ballyfran, a strange isolated…

Six for Sunday: 2018 books I Must Read

Six for Sunday: 2018 Books I Must Read Ooh, this is a tricky one because I am terrible at remembering when a book was published and I have so many books on my to-be-read list that tracking down only those from 2018 might be hard…here are a few that I just know that I will…

Library Loot: UK YA Bests

Library Loot: UK YA Bests This week’s library loot includes a book which I picked up just because it looked interesting (Help the Witch), The Quiet at the End of the World by Lauren James (after I read and loved The Loneliest Girl in the Universe) and three from the shortlist of the UK YA…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

GUEST POST – Joanna Ruth Meyer

Originally posted on Liv's Wonderful Escape:
Today I am delighted to have Joanna Ruth Meyer on my blog with her INCREDIBLE book, Echo North! Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart when her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wicked King

The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) Written by Holly Black 336 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring. The first lesson is to make yourself strong. After the jaw-dropping revelation that…

Waiting on Wednesday: Echo North

Echo North Written by Joanna Ruth Meyer ~400 pages Published by Page Street Kids Publication date:January 15th 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart after her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him half-frozen in the winter…

Book Review: Bestiary

Bestiary Written by Christopher Masters 256 pages Published by Thames & Hudson in collaboration with the British Museum Publication date: 16th October 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Drawing on the world-leading scholarship and vast collections of the British Museum, Bestiary is a wonderful visual, thematic exploration of animals—real, surreal, and imaginary—as depicted on beautiful ritual objects…

Waiting on Wednesday: Once Upon A River

Waiting on Wednesday: Once Upon A River Once Upon a River Written by Diane Setterfield 480 pages Published by Doubleday Publication date: 17th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): A dark midwinter’s night in an ancient inn on the Thames. The regulars are entertaining themselves by telling stories when the door bursts open on an injured…