Book Review: The Great Revolt

Thrilling historical adventure set during the English peasants’ revolt of 1381, by Paul Dowswell, the author of Ausländer, and Wolf Children. It’s 1381 and the king, Richard II, has imposed a new tax on the people.

Book Review: Mohinder’s War

Book Review: Mohinder’s War   Mohinder’s War Written by Bali Rai 176 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads) : A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical…

Library Loot: Non-fiction galore!

Library Loot: Non-fiction galore! Wow, it’s been an age since I posted one of these, despite the fact that I have been borrowing tonnes of books from the library, as always. I’m there at least once a week to pick up reservations and grab books from the ‘Recent Arrivals’ section, plus buy books in the…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Last Paper Crane

Waiting on Wednesday: The Last Paper Crane   The Last Paper Crane Written by Kerry Drewery pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: April 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): One thousand paper cranes to achieve your heart’s desire. 1945, Hiroshima: Ichiro is a teenage boy relaxing at home with his friend Hiro. Moments later there…

Mini-Reviews: Remembrance

Mini-Reviews: Remembrance   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts to…

Mini-Reviews: Greek Mythology

Mini-Reviews: Greek Mythology   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Mini-Reviews: Female Pilots

Mini-Reviews: Female Pilots   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Book Review: Herstory

Book Review: Herstory Herstory: 50 women and girl who shook the world Written by Katherine Halligan Illustrated by Sarah Walsh 112 pages Published by Nosy Crow Publication date: 1st March 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Instead of just studying history, let’s think about HerStory too! In this uplifting and inspiring book, children can learn about 50…

Six for Sunday: 2018 Books I Need to Reread

Six for Sunday: 2018 Books I Need to Reread The Boneless Mercies by Genevieve Tucholke They called us the Mercies, or sometimes the Boneless Mercies. They said we were shadows, ghosts, and if you touched our skin we dissolved into smoke … Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are Boneless Mercies – death-traders, hired to kill…

Six for Sunday: 2018 books I Must Read

Six for Sunday: 2018 Books I Must Read Ooh, this is a tricky one because I am terrible at remembering when a book was published and I have so many books on my to-be-read list that tracking down only those from 2018 might be hard…here are a few that I just know that I will…

Multilingual flashcard: Flute

Multilingual flashcard: Flute Flutes are the earliest existing musical instruments, with examples having been discovered from around 43,000 years ago, made from bone. Flutes can be made from a variety of materials, including metal, wood, bone, fibreglass and many more. The name ‘flute’ actually refers to a family of instruments, varying in size and material….

Book Review: Bestiary

Bestiary Written by Christopher Masters 256 pages Published by Thames & Hudson in collaboration with the British Museum Publication date: 16th October 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Drawing on the world-leading scholarship and vast collections of the British Museum, Bestiary is a wonderful visual, thematic exploration of animals—real, surreal, and imaginary—as depicted on beautiful ritual objects…