Six for Sunday: Favourite LGBT Characters

Six for Sunday: Favourite LGBT Characters Welcome back to another week of #SixForSunday! This week the theme is favourite LGBT characters and, while I came up with some straightaway, others were more difficult. Here are a few of my favourite characters, who also happen to identify as LGBT: Magnus Bane from The Shadowhunters world ‘I…

Waiting on Wednesday: A Treason of Thorns

Waiting on Wednesday: A Treason of Thorns A Treason of Thorns Written by Laura E. Weymouth 320 pages Published by Harper Teen Publication date: 10th September 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s…

Book Review: Dragon Dancer

Book Review: Dragon Dancer Dragon Dancer Written by Joyce Chng Illustrated by Jérémy Pailler 38 pages Published by Lantana Publishing Publication date: 1st January 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): It is the eve of Chinese New Year. Lanterns are hung in the shopping malls and Yao is preparing to wake the ancient sky dragon, Shen Long,…

Review: The Dog Who Saved The World by Ross Welford

Originally posted on Book Murmuration:
Review: The Dog Who Saved The World by Ross Welford ? Extract: So that was it. Damage done. I had started the end of the world. Obviously, I didn’t know it at the time. I’ve kept the secret until now: how I handled the tennis ball that was infected with…

Six for Sunday: Favourite LGBT Books

Six for Sunday: Favourite LGBT Books Welcome back to another week of #SixforSunday The theme for this week is favourite LGBT books. As always, when I first heard the theme I worried that I wouldn’t be able to come up with enough books for the prompt, but once I got started I managed it quite…

January Round-Up

January Round-Up The first month of the New year has swooped past! How has your January been? Are you still keeping up your resolutions or do you need a reset? See my round-up for 2018, 2018 Blogging Stats or 2019 Goals. Books read Total: 35 Picture books: 17 Graphic novels: 0 Middle Grade: 6 Young…

Waiting on Wednesday: Asha & the Spirit Bird

Waiting on Wednesday: Asha & the Spirit Bird   Asha and the Spirit Bird Written by Jasbinder Bilan ? pages Published by Chicken House Books Publication date: 7th February 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Asha lives on the family farm with her mother in rural India. Her father is away working in the city, and when…

Book Review: The Antidote (+ Giveaway!)

Book Review: The Antidote The Antidote Written by Shelley Sackier 368 pages Published by Harper Teen Publication date: 5th February 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Magic is not allowed, under any circumstances — even if it could save someone’s life. Instead, there are herbal remedies and traditional techniques that have been painstakingly recorded in lieu of…

Book Review: Colour of People

Book Review: Colour of People Colour of People Illustrated by Mauricio Negro 32 pages Published by Little island Books Publication date: 5th July 2018 Summary (from the publisher): People come in different colours. But no matter what they look like, people all eat when they’re hungry, shiver when they’re cold, smile when they’re happy. Originally published in Brazil, this wordless…

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Library Loot: Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

Waiting on Wednesday: Echo North

Echo North Written by Joanna Ruth Meyer ~400 pages Published by Page Street Kids Publication date:January 15th 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart after her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him half-frozen in the winter…