2019 Goals

2019 Goals ‘New Year, New Me’ seems to be the general feeling around this time of year and it can be hard not to get caught up in making grand plans about all the wonderful things we will do this year, without keeping in mind that all of the time pressures and obligations from last…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

GUEST POST – Joanna Ruth Meyer

Originally posted on Liv's Wonderful Escape:
Today I am delighted to have Joanna Ruth Meyer on my blog with her INCREDIBLE book, Echo North! Echo Alkaev’s safe and carefully structured world falls apart when her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him…

5 Simple Steps to Learn a New Language

5 Simple Steps to Learn a New Language Happy New Year! Is one of your New Year’s resolutions this year to learn a new skill, such as a foreign language? Learning a new language provides multiple benefits, including improving your executive functioning, ability to switch between tasks and encouraging you to learn about another culture,…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wicked King

The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) Written by Holly Black 336 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring. The first lesson is to make yourself strong. After the jaw-dropping revelation that…

2018 Blogging Stats

2018 Blogging Stats How has 2018 been for you? Has your blog grown or has it fallen by the wayside? Stats are those things that we all really care about, but somehow don’t talk about that often. People always say that we shouldn’t compare ourselves to others, but it is difficult not to care about…

2018: My Year in Books

2018: My Year in Books Farewell to 2018 and welcome to 2019! That is definitely going to take a bit of getting used to, as I still feel like 2018 has hardly begun. How has your year been? What have been your highlights? Which books have been your favourites? This was the first year that…

December Round-Up

December Round-Up So, here we are at the end of the year and it simultaneously feels as if it has flown by and taken forever! A lot has happened in the past month alone, with a mad rush at the end of term ( as always!), a nightmare journey through an airport where planes were…

Gift books for Christmas

Gift Books for Christmas Books are the perfect gift at Christmas – at least for me! I love getting books and I love picking out books for other people as it is always fun trying to find something that suits everyone. This is a bumper list, although I have had to be really strict so…

Waiting on Wednesday: Chrysalis

Chrysalis (Project Nemesis #3) Written by Brendan Reichs 416 pages Published by Pan Macmillan Publication date: 5th March 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): The stunning finale of the Project Nemesis trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Brendan Reichs. The 64 members of Fire Lake’s sophomore class have managed to survive the first two phases of…

Book Review: The Dog That Saved Christmas

The Dog That Saved Christmas Written by Nicola Davies Illustrated by Mike Byrne 96 pages Published by Barrington Stoke Publication date: 15th October 2018 Summary (from Barrington Stoke): Christmas is a nightmare for Jake. He hates the bright lights, all the noise and the disruption to his routine. But everything changes when he finds a…

Multilingual flashcard: Christmas Tree

Multilingual flashcard: Christmas Tree Have you put up your Christmas tree yet? Do you get a real tree, decorate one outside or use an artificial tree? What kind of decorations do you have on your tree? We put our tree up a few weeks ago as we will actually be at my parent’s house for…