Book Review: The Great Revolt

Thrilling historical adventure set during the English peasants’ revolt of 1381, by Paul Dowswell, the author of Ausländer, and Wolf Children. It’s 1381 and the king, Richard II, has imposed a new tax on the people.

Book Review: Break the Fall

Book Review: Break the Fall Break the Fall Written by Jennifer Iacopelli Published by Hodder Children’s Books 400 pages Publication date: 20th February 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): “This book makes you understand exactly what it is like to compete as a woman at the highest level in sport, and it is exhilarating and satisfying indeed.”…

Book Review: Rebel Dogs!

Book Review: Rebel Dogs! Rebel Dogs! Heroic Tales of Trusty Hounds Written by Kimberlie Hamilton 160 pages Published by Scholastic UK Publication date: 1st August 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Tail-wagging tales of real-life Rebel Dogs! Get your paws on the stories and secrets of some of history’s most heroic hounds! An engaging collection packed with over…

Waiting on Wednesday: Into the Crooked Place

Waiting on Wednesday: Into the Crooked Place Into the Crooked Place Written by Alexandra Christo 496 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th October 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy series from Alexandra Christo, the author of To Kill a Kingdom. The streets of Creije are for…

Waiting on Wednesday: Harley in the Sky

Waiting on Wednesday: Harley in the Sky Harley in the Sky Written by Akemi Dawn Bowman ? pages Published by Simon Pulse Publication date: 10th March 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Harley Milano has dreamed of being a trapeze artist for as long as she can remember. With parents who run a famous circus in Las Vegas,…

July Round-Up

July Round-Up July has whooshed past and I cannot quite believe that it is already August! I only finished school yesterday! (The children finished last Wednesday on the 24th, but I’ve been in sorting out my classroom for next year). July has been a quiet month for me on the blog due to lots of…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

Book Review: Spinning Silver

Spinning Silver Written by Naomi Novik 480 pages Published by Macmillan Publication date: 12th July 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders… but her father isn’t a very good one. Free to lend and reluctant to collect, he has loaned out most of his wife’s dowry and left the family…

Book Review: Just Don’t Mention It

Just Don’t Mention It Written by Estelle Maskame 470 pages Published by Ink Road Press Publication date: 21st June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Tyler Bruce – hell raiser and bad boy – tells his story in his own words. Alternating between past and present, Just Don’t Mention It is narrated from Tyler’s perspective. We see…

Author Interview: Elizabeth Bailey

Today we have the lovely Elizabeth Bailey, author of The Gilded Shroud, on the blog. (see my review here) About the Author Elizabeth Bailey feels lucky to have found several paths that have given her immense satisfaction – acting, directing, teaching and, by no means least, writing. Through the years, each path has crossed the…

Waiting on Wednesday: Bright Ruin

Bright Ruin (Dark Gifts Book 3) Written by Vic James 416 pages Published by Pan Macmillan Publication date: 26th July 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): A thrilling Orwellian vision of Britain, with a rebellious Hunger Games heart, Bright Ruin is the third and final title in Vic James’s electrifying Dark Gifts Trilogy, following Tarnished City. Magically…

May Round-Up

May Round-Up May has been an incredibly busy month, like every month before it seems! I have attended a few bookish events, including the London book launch for Louise O’Neill’s The Surface Breaks, a YA Fantasy Panel with Sally Green, Taran Matharu, David Owen and Alice Broadway and Oliver Jeffers at the V&A. I gained…