Book Review: The Winter Garden

Welcome to the Winter Garden. Open only at 13 o’clock.
You are invited to enter an unusual competition.
I am looking for the most magical, spectacular, remarkable pleasure garden this world has to offer.

On the night her mother dies, 8-year-old Beatrice receives an invitation to the mysterious Winter Garden. A place of wonder and magic, filled with all manner of strange and spectacular flora and fauna, the garden is her solace every night for seven days. But when the garden disappears, and no one believes her story, Beatrice is left to wonder if it were truly real.

Book Review: The Raven Heir

Book Review: The Raven Heir The Raven Heir Written by Stephanie Burgis 272 pages Published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books Publication date: 5th August 2021 Summary (from Goodreads): A set of magical triplets, two warring dynasties, and a broken crown waiting for its rightful owner… Deep within an enchanted forest lies a castle where a set…

Book Review: The Time Thief

From the first moment I met Elle in the first book in The Leap Cycle, The Infinite, I loved her. She has such a strong narrative voice, simply walking off the page and drawing me effortlessly into her world. The world-building in the first book is also fantastic, done in an organic way that never feels like info-dumping. Leaplings, children born on 29th February as rare, but even rarer are those who have the gift of being able to travel through time.

Book Review: The Great Revolt

Thrilling historical adventure set during the English peasants’ revolt of 1381, by Paul Dowswell, the author of Ausländer, and Wolf Children. It’s 1381 and the king, Richard II, has imposed a new tax on the people.

Book Review: Break the Fall

Book Review: Break the Fall Break the Fall Written by Jennifer Iacopelli Published by Hodder Children’s Books 400 pages Publication date: 20th February 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): “This book makes you understand exactly what it is like to compete as a woman at the highest level in sport, and it is exhilarating and satisfying indeed.”…

Book Review: Rebel Dogs!

Book Review: Rebel Dogs! Rebel Dogs! Heroic Tales of Trusty Hounds Written by Kimberlie Hamilton 160 pages Published by Scholastic UK Publication date: 1st August 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Tail-wagging tales of real-life Rebel Dogs! Get your paws on the stories and secrets of some of history’s most heroic hounds! An engaging collection packed with over…

Waiting on Wednesday: Into the Crooked Place

Waiting on Wednesday: Into the Crooked Place Into the Crooked Place Written by Alexandra Christo 496 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 8th October 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy series from Alexandra Christo, the author of To Kill a Kingdom. The streets of Creije are for…

Waiting on Wednesday: Harley in the Sky

Waiting on Wednesday: Harley in the Sky Harley in the Sky Written by Akemi Dawn Bowman ? pages Published by Simon Pulse Publication date: 10th March 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Harley Milano has dreamed of being a trapeze artist for as long as she can remember. With parents who run a famous circus in Las Vegas,…

July Round-Up

July Round-Up July has whooshed past and I cannot quite believe that it is already August! I only finished school yesterday! (The children finished last Wednesday on the 24th, but I’ve been in sorting out my classroom for next year). July has been a quiet month for me on the blog due to lots of…

Book Review: The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree Written by Rachel Burge 304 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: 10th January 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by…

Book Review: Spinning Silver

Spinning Silver Written by Naomi Novik 480 pages Published by Macmillan Publication date: 12th July 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders… but her father isn’t a very good one. Free to lend and reluctant to collect, he has loaned out most of his wife’s dowry and left the family…

Book Review: Just Don’t Mention It

Just Don’t Mention It Written by Estelle Maskame 470 pages Published by Ink Road Press Publication date: 21st June 2018 Summary (from Goodreads): Tyler Bruce – hell raiser and bad boy – tells his story in his own words. Alternating between past and present, Just Don’t Mention It is narrated from Tyler’s perspective. We see…