Book Review: Mohinder’s War

Book Review: Mohinder’s War   Mohinder’s War Written by Bali Rai 176 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads) : A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical…

Book Review: The Wonder Machine

Book Review: The Wonder Machine   The Wonder Machine Written by Barry Timms Illustrated by Laura Brenlla 24 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 5th September 2019 (hardback), 11th June 2020 (paperback) Summary (from Little Tiger): Haven’t you heard? Wolf is building a machine. A machine that makes dreams come true! “My greatest invention…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Court of Miracles

Waiting on Wednesday: The Court of Miracles   The Court of Miracles Written by Kester Grant 464 pages Published by Harper Voyager Publication date: 14th May 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Les Misérables meets Six of Crows in this page-turning adventure as a young thief finds herself going head to head with leaders of Paris’s criminal underground in the…

Book Review: Diary of a Confused Feminist

Book Review: Diary of a Confused Feminist Diary of a Confused Feminist Written by Kate Weston 384 pages Published by Hachette Publication date: 6th February 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Kat wants to do GOOD FEMINISM, although she’s not always sure what that means. She also wants to be a writer, get together with Hot Josh…

Multicultural Children’s Book Day 2020

Multicultural Children’s Book Day – 31st January 2020   This is my third year taking part in supporting Multicultural Children’s Book Day and I am, as always, privileged to be able to take part and spread the message of inclusivity in books. See my posts about Multicultural Children’s Book Day for 2018 and 2019. Why…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Last Paper Crane

Waiting on Wednesday: The Last Paper Crane   The Last Paper Crane Written by Kerry Drewery pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: April 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): One thousand paper cranes to achieve your heart’s desire. 1945, Hiroshima: Ichiro is a teenage boy relaxing at home with his friend Hiro. Moments later there…

Book Review: An Illusion of Thieves

Book Review: An Illusion of Thieves   Illusion of Thieves Written by Cate Glass 348 pages Published by Tor Books Publication date: 21st May 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): In Cantagna, being a sorcerer is a death sentence. Romy escapes her hardscrabble upbringing when she becomes courtesan to the Shadow Lord, a revolutionary noble who brings…

Six for Sunday: Witchy Books

Six for Sunday: Witchy Books   It is no secret that I love books about witches – here are a few that you could read on this Hallowe’en weekend! I have listed three for younger readers and three for older readers, but there are a lot more recommendations that I would love to give! The…

Book Review: It’s a No-Money Day

Book Review: It’s a No-Money Day   It’s a No-Money Day Written and illustrated by Kate Milner 32 pages Published by Barrington Stoke Publication date: 15th October Summary (from Barrington Stoke): A gentle, poignant and powerful exploration of foodbanks and life below the poverty line, from the Klaus Flugge Prize-winning creator of My Name is Not Refugee….

Waiting on Wednesday: Seven Deadly Shadows

Waiting on Wednesday: Seven Deadly Shadows   Seven Deadly Shadows Written by Courtney Alameda and Valynne E. Maetani ? pages Published by Harper Collins Publication date: 28th January 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Kira Fujikawa has always been a girl on the fringe. Bullied by her peers and ignored by her parents, the only place Kira’s…

Book Review: All The Things We Never Said

Book Review: All The Things We Never Said All The Things We Never Said Written by Yasmin Rahman 448 pages Published by Hot Key Books Publication date: July 2019 Summary ( from Goodreads): 16-year-old Mehreen Miah’s anxiety and depression, or ‘Chaos’, as she calls it, has taken over her life, to the point where she…