Book Review: The Great Revolt

Thrilling historical adventure set during the English peasants’ revolt of 1381, by Paul Dowswell, the author of Ausländer, and Wolf Children. It’s 1381 and the king, Richard II, has imposed a new tax on the people.

Book Review: Comprehension Ninja

Book Review: Comprehension Ninja   Comprehension Ninja Written by Andrew Jennings 48 pages each Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary: Comprehension Ninja Workbooks are ideal for supporting your child’s learning at home. With bespoke non-fiction texts and hundreds of questions, they’re packed full of comprehension practice with strong links to the National…

Book Review: Mohinder’s War

Book Review: Mohinder’s War   Mohinder’s War Written by Bali Rai 176 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads) : A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical…

Book Review: Terraformer (+ Giveaway!)

Book Review: Terraformer Terraformer Written by Colleen Houck 536 pages Published by Trident Media Group Publication date: 12th May 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A new dystopian sci-fi YA series from the New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck Warning all Astronauts: COLONY BOUNDARY WARNING! PERMISSION TO ENTER ALIEN FOREST IS REQUIRED NOTE: NO RESCUE ATTEMPTS WILL BE…

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Deeplight

Book Spotlight: Deeplight   Deeplight Written by Frances Hardinge Cover art by Aitch 416 pages Published by Pan Macmillan and Amulet Books (Abram) Publication date: 31st October 2019 (UK) ; 14th April 2020 (USA) Summary (from Goodreads): Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea meets Frankenstein in Frances Hardinge’s latest fantasy adventure The gods are dead. Decades…

Book Review: The Forest of Fallen Stars

Book Review: The Forest of Fallen Stars   The Forest of Fallen Stars Written by Elfie Riverdell 224 pages Self-published Publication date: 1st June 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): The Forest of Fallen Stars is a story of friendship and magic. We follow Alura, a shy but stubborn sixteen year old, as she tries to navigate…

Book Review: Daughter of the Zel

Book Review: Daughter of the Zel Daughter of the Zel Written by Phoebe Ritter 191 pages Published by Publication date: Summary (from Goodreads): Raised on the border between Nevda and Zel, Efa has two certainties in life. Their country’s neighbours, the warlike Zel, are to be feared. Her touch will kill, so she can never…

Book Review: Sofa Surfer

Book Review: Sofa Surfer Sofa Surfer Written by Malcolm Duffy 320 pages Published by Zephyr Publication date: 6th February 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): ‘A story with great heart, and wisdom, which shows the healing power of true friendship’ Ele Fountain, author of Boy 87. Written with humour and heart, Sofa Surfer looks at what it means to be…

Book Review: Black Water

Book Review: Black Water   Black Water Written by Barbara Henderson 88 pages Published by Cranachan Publishing Publication date: 31st October 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Sink or swim to survive Solway’s black water… Down by the coast, black water swirls and hides its secrets. Dumfries, 1792. Henry may only be twelve, but he has already…

Book Review: Invisible in a Bright Light

Book Review: Invisible in a Bright Light   Invisible in a Bright Light Written by Sally Gardner 320 pages Published by Head of Zeus Publication date: 14th October 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): From I, Coriander to Invisible in a Bright Light, Sally Gardner’s first middle grade novel in 14 years soars with the imagination of…

Book Review: A Treason of Thorns

Book Review: A Treason of Thorns A Treason of Thorns Written by Laura E. Weymouth 352 pages Published by Harper Teen Publication date: 10th September 2019 Summary (from Goodreads): Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic…