Book Review: The Great Revolt

Thrilling historical adventure set during the English peasants’ revolt of 1381, by Paul Dowswell, the author of Ausländer, and Wolf Children. It’s 1381 and the king, Richard II, has imposed a new tax on the people.

Book Review: Mohinder’s War

Book Review: Mohinder’s War   Mohinder’s War Written by Bali Rai 176 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads) : A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical…

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets   44 Tiny Secrets Written by Sylvia Bishop Illustrated by Ashley King 192 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 23rd July 2020 Summary (from Little Tiger Press): The first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind THE…

Mini-Reviews: Strange Houses

Mini-Reviews: Strange Houses   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Book Review: Trailblazers: Simone Biles

Book Review: Trailblazers: Simone Biles   Trailblazers: Simone Biles Written by Sally J. Morgan 176 pages Published by Little Tiger Books Publication date: 14th May 2020 Summary (from Little Tiger Books): Be inspired by the lives of trailblazers past and present in this fun and factual biography series! How did Simone Biles become a superstar…

Library Loot: Nature Run Wild and Eco-Awareness

Library Loot: Nature Run Wild and Eco-Awareness   A Planet Full of Plastic  by Neal Layton Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it’s not meant to be. If it drops…

Mini-Reviews: Girls having Adventures

Mini-reviews: Girls having Adventures When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Waiting on Wednesday: Orphans of the Tide

Waiting on Wednesday: Orphans of the Tide Orphans of the Tide Written by Struan Murray 352 pages Published by Puffin Books Publication date: 20th February 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A breathtaking middle grade debut for fans of Brightstorm and His Dark Materials. The City was built on a sharp mountain that jutted improbably from the…

#Believathon Reading Challenge

#Believathon Reading Challenge   Yes, yes, I realise that it is more than halfway through November and I realise that I have a terrible track record for actually completing reading challenges. However, the #Believathon middle grade reading challenge is one that I really want to be part of because I feel like middle-grade books get…

Mini-Reviews: Villains

Mini-Reviews: Villains   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts to…