Waiting on Wednesday: Orphans of the Tide

Waiting on Wednesday: Orphans of the Tide


orphansofthetide


Orphans of the Tide

Written by Struan Murray

352 pages

Published by Puffin Books

Publication date: 20th February 2020


Summary (from Goodreads):

A breathtaking middle grade debut for fans of Brightstorm and His Dark Materials.

The City was built on a sharp mountain that jutted improbably from the sea, and the sea kept trying to claim it back. That grey morning, once the tide had retreated, a whale was found on a rooftop.

When a mysterious boy washes in with the tide, the citizens believe he’s the Enemy – the god who drowned the world – come again to cause untold chaos.

Only Ellie, a fearless young inventor living in a workshop crammed with curiosities, believes he’s innocent.

But the Enemy can take possession of any human body and the ruthless Inquisition are determined to destroy it forever.

To save the boy, Ellie must prove who he really is – even if that means revealing her own dangerous secret . . .


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • This sounds dark and dystopian. I have a real soft spot for dystopian worlds so I am looking forward to seeing what this universe has to offer. I am especially excited to see more dystopia in middle-grade and have really enjoyed some recent books in this genre such as The Switching Hour and The Middler.
  • I like the idea of the main character being an inventor, particularly that she’s a girl and an inventor. I liked this in Cinder by Marissa Meyer.
  • The idea of tinkering with inventions and cabinets of curiosity (Think Hugo Cabret!)  is something that has always intrigued me. I love it when the remnants of an older society’s technology become holy artifacts years later because nobody understands how they work. You can see this in the Books of the Crow by Catherine Fisher (which I love!)
  • ‘The Enemy can take possession of any body’. This sounds all sorts of menacing and scary – how could you trust anyone?
  • I love the idea of the last city in the world, surrounded by the sea and cannot help but draw parallels to rising sea levels around the world at the moment and other books on a similar theme, like Julie Bertagna’s Exodus.

 


What do you think?

Does this sound like the kind of book you would enjoy?

Will you be reading this or do you have any other anticipated releases you would recommend to me?

Let me know in the comments!


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here: When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, Starfish, The Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia Unleashed, Bright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Empress of All Seasons, Tempests and Slaughter, Grim Lovelies, The Glass of Lead and Gold, Storm Witch, The Way Past Winter, The Gilded Wolves,Fierce Fairytales, Descendant of the Crane. Dragon Pearl,Last of Her Name. The Familars. A Pinch of Magic, A Witch Come True, The Winter of the Witch. Once Upon a River, A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Shadowscent, Romanov. Echo North, The Wicked King, The Priory of the Orange Tree, Spin the Dawn, Master of Sorrows, Asha and the Spirit Bird, A Treason of Thorns, We Rule The Night, Perfectly Preventable Deaths, Collision, Rumblestar, The Last Spell Breather, The Starless Sea, The Lost Tide Warriors, The Princess Who Flew With Dragons, Containment. House of Salt and Sorrows, Sanctuary, Stronger than a Bronze Dragon, Gumiho/Wicked Fox, Pan’s Labyrinth, The Kingdom, The Taste of Rain, The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Chinglish, Winterwood, Harley in the Sky, Into the Crooked Place, Butterfly Yellow, Seven Deadly Shadows, Shadows of Winterspell, Wicked as You Wish, The Silvered Serpents, Feathertide, Break The Fall, Deep and Darkest Red, Rogue Princess, Forest of Ghosts and Bones, The Foundling.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Hazel Wood, Tangleweed and Brine, Summer Bird Blue, The Pretender or The Gilded King?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lilyfae says:

    Love LOVE LOVE this book! It’s pretty incredible with its mythology and world building and the cleverest of villains!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really excited for this one. It sounds amazing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.