Waiting on Wednesday: A Witch Come True

A-Witch-Come-True-665x1024


A Witch Come True

(The Apprentice Witch #3)

Written by James Nicol

~350-400 pages

Published by Chicken House

Publication date: 7th March 2019


Summary (from Chicken House website):

The war is over and Arianwyn has discovered the secret of the quiet glyphs, but her troubles are far from over.

Her day-to-day work as Lull’s witch is tricky enough: winter has set in, bringing bad weather, ice imps and befuddling Yule traditions. But when Arianwyn’s grandmother is abducted by the traitor on the Council, our witch faces her greatest challenge yet. What really makes a witch come true? Our lovable heroine is about to find out …

The final instalment of James Nicol’s popular witchy trilogy, perfect for fans of The Worst Witch and Diana Wynne Jones.


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  1. I love books about witches! I hadn’t really noticed the theme until I was perusing my childhood bookshelves while visiting my parents and noticed the predominance of books about witches. The Worst Witch. The Little Witch. Which Witch? The Witches of Creaky Cranky Castle, etc. Even my adult bookshelves have lots of books about witches!
  2. I have adored the first two books in this series so am sure to like the third book even more!
  3. This entire series really reminds me of the Studio Ghibli movie, Kiki’s Delivery Service. I don’t mean that it’s copying it in any way, but it has very much the same kind of feel, which means I have finished reading the first two books in this series feeling warm, something that all the best middle-grade books achieve.
  4. I need to find out what happens to Arianwyn! Let me read this now!
  5. This book is recommended for fans of The Worst Witch and Diana Wynne Jones – a series and an author that I love! It’s almost like this book series was tailor-made for me…

What do you think?

Does this sound like the kind of book you would enjoy?

Will you be reading this or do you have any other anticipated releases you would recommend to me?

Let me know in the comments!


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here:  When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, StarfishThe Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia UnleashedBright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Empress of All Seasons, Tempests and Slaughter, Grim Lovelies, The Glass of Lead and Gold, Storm Witch, The Way Past Winter, The Gilded Wolves, Fierce Fairytales, Descendant of the Crane. Dragon Pearl, Last of Her Name. The Familars. A Pinch of Magic.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Hazel Wood, Tangleweed and Brine, Sanctuary, The Pretender or The Gilded King?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

 

 

28 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m really excited for this too, even though I’m so sad it’s the last one!
    Amy x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s always a shame finishing series you love, isn’t it? I have a real problem with reading the last book in a trilogy for that reason! Sometimes I put if off for ages…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I love the title and cover

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a really fun series!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.