Waiting on Wednesday: Perfectly Preventable Deaths

Waiting on Wednesday: Perfectly Preventable Deaths

perfectlypreventabledeaths


Perfectly Preventable Deaths

Written by Deirdre Sullivan

304 pages

Published by Hot Key Books

Publication date: 30th May 2019


Summary (from Goodreads):

Everyone in Ballyfran has a secret, and that is what binds them together…

Fifteen-year-old twins Madeline and Catlin move to a new life in Ballyfran, a strange isolated town, a place where, for the last sixty years, teenage girls have gone missing in the surrounding mountains.

As distance grows between the twins – as Catlin falls in love, and Madeline begins to understand her own nascent witchcraft – Madeline discovers that Ballyfran is a place full of predators. Not only foxes, owls and crows, but also supernatural beings who for many generations have congregated here to escape persecution. When Catlin falls into the gravest danger of all, Madeline must ask herself who she really is, and who she wants to be – or rather, who she might have to become to save her sister.

Dark and otherworldly, this is an enthralling story about the bond between sisters and the sacrifices we make for those we care about the most. For fans of Frances Hardinge and Laure Eve.


Why I can’t wait to read this:

  • I absolutely LOVED Tangleweed and Brine (see my gushing review here!), plus everything else I have read by Deirdre Sullivan. I would read anything she writes!
  • The story is set in Ireland. I always love stories set at home, because they’re so familiar. I’ve spent years being told that my Hiberno-English is ‘dialect’ and so it feels really nice to read/ hear characters speaking the way I and and my friends do!
  • This story has witchcraft and supernatural creatures – if I weren’t already sold by the simple fact that Dierdre Sullivan wrote this, I would be sold at that!
  • It is set in an isolated town where everyone has secrets…but if it’s anything liek where I grew up, everyone is very interested in everyone else’s business!
  • The story is centred around twins. I love sibling relationships in books, so I am looking forward to seeing how this book explores that bond.

What do you think?

Does this sound like the kind of book you would enjoy?

Will you be reading this or do you have any other anticipated releases you would recommend to me?

Let me know in the comments!


See some other Waiting on Wednesday posts here:  When the Mountains Roared, The Exact Opposite of Okay, To Kill a Kingdom, StarfishThe Gloaming, The Smoke Thieves, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Queens of Innis Lear, Legendary, Nyxia UnleashedBright Ruin, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Empress of All Seasons, Tempests and Slaughter, Grim Lovelies, The Glass of Lead and Gold, Storm Witch, The Way Past Winter, The Gilded Wolves, Fierce Fairytales, Descendant of the Crane. Dragon Pearl, Last of Her Name. The Familars. A Pinch of Magic, A Witch Come True, The Winter of the Witch. Once Upon a River, A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Shadowscent, Romanov. Echo North, The Wicked King, The Priory of the Orange Tree, Spin the Dawn, Master of Sorrows, Asha and the Spirit Bird, A Treason of Thorns, We Rule The Night.

While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The Hazel Wood, Tangleweed and Brine, Sanctuary, The Pretender or The Gilded King?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!