April Round -Up

April Round-Up


Welcome back to the April edition of my monthly round-ups! Can you believe that we’re now a third of the way through 2019? I don’t know where the time has gone!

How has 2019 been treating you so far?

Check out my monthly round-ups for January, February and March.


19apr319apr219apr1


Books read

Total: 37 (2 not on Goodreads yet!)

Picture books: 8

Graphic novels: 1

Middle Grade: 14

Young adult: 12

Adult: 2

Non-fiction: 1

Poetry: 0


Sources of books

Library: 23

Bought/Owned: 4

Won: 1

ARC: 13   ( 6 e-ARCs from Netgalley)

Books read that count towards the #YARC2019 Reading Challenge: 3 (Total so far: 18)

This is slightly fewer than usual, so need to make an extra effort next month!

Highlights this month have included: Owen and the Soldier, The Boneless Mercies, The Wicked King, No Ballet Shoes in Syria, The Closest Thing to Flying, The Dictionary of Difficult Words, The Boy at the Back of the Class, Asha and The Spirit Bird, Pog, Ayesha at Last, The Longest Night of Charlie Noon, The Burning, The Star-Spun Web…this list keeps getting longer because it’s been a fantastic reading month!


April Posts

Book Reviews: Mira’s Curly Hair, Ayesha At Last, Summer Bird Blue, No Ballet Shoes in Syria, The Burning, The Dictionary of Difficult Words,

Waiting on Wednesday: Perfectly Preventable Deaths, Collision, Rumblestar, The Last Spell Breather, The Starless Sea.

Library Loot: UKYA Bests; Aliens, Fences and Fairies; War, Hope and Storms.

Six for Sunday: Childhood Favourites, 2019 kidlit must-reads (so far!)

Other: How to Pick Yourself Back Up After a Fall, Books I want to read but I don’t want to read yet…, 6 Ways to Practise Self Care that don’t involve a face mask, 5 Popular YA Books that I haven’t read yet.


April Achievements and Highlights

  • My family coming to visit over Easter was great fun – I loved spending time with my parents, my brother and his family and my niece and her partner! It was so great to be able to invite everyone over to our new home, even if it’s still a bit of a mess!
  • The to-do list for our new home is never-ending, but we have managed to get a few things sorted, which is really making it feel like home. I am particularly enjoying our garden as new plants appear after their winter hibernation!
  • Being invited to the Hot Key Books Blogger Brunch was an amazing experience – I will write that up soon!

April Favourites

Food/Drink: Elderflower cordial is one of my favourites at this time of year as the weather starts to heat up – it’s so refreshing! What is your favourite drink to cool down?

Skincare: I have been terrible at looking after my skin this month…oh dear!

TV/Film: Rise of the Phoenixes! (I mentioned it last month too!) Honestly, I’ve been really busy so haven’t watched much TV, but I have managed a few more episodes of this and I am completely obsessed! Give it a go!


What did you think of my monthly round-up for April?

How did your month go?

What are you looking forward to next month?


Let me know in the comments!


Also, please link your monthly round-ups below so I can catch up with your blogs!


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. My April was spent doing a fair bit of coursework/revision for school (my exams are this month and then I’m done, which I can’t wait for!) But I went on holiday at the start of the month and also wasn’t actually at school for most of it for a few reasons, which I think is how I somehow managed to fit in 20 Books (a number I’m very pleased with as I haven’t managed that many since last January!). Glad you got to spend time with your family over Easter and that the house is starting to come along 💜
    We read a few of the same books (the Longest Night of Charlie Noon and Owen and the Soldier, which I really enjoyed too). I think my favourites of the month were The Last Spell Breather, Paper Avalanche and When We Were Warriors.
    What did you think of the Frozen Telescope? I can’t believe I’ve still not read it; I keep meaning to but then I get nervous that I won’t love it and don’t (I’m also a bit in denial the series is over I think!)
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope all your exams go smoothly – it’s going to feel amazing once you’ve finished them all! Hope your holiday was fun too?
      I really want to read The Last Spell Breather and am hoping that a proof is on the way…
      I liked Frozen Telescope but not as much as the first two in the series, unfortunately. Still well worth reading though as there are some really fun bits! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Holiday was lovely- I read loads while I was away! 💜

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow well done on reading so many books!!

    Like

  3. Fanna says:

    Did you just read 37 books in a month? OMG, you’re an inspiration 😀 And I loved The Wicked King! Also, Ayesha At Last and Descendant of the Crane are being loved by so many, I have them on my TBR now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do read lots of kidlit and picture books with my class (I;m a teacher) so that puts my number up! Ayesha at Last was a surprise for me – I probably wouldn’t initially have picked it up as contemporary books can be a bit hit-or-miss for me, but I read the first few chapters on Readersfirst and loved it! Descendant of the Crane was quite different to what I was expecting, but I enjoyed it. The Wicked King was exactly what I had expected and I loved it, but it was over too fast! What was your top read of April?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.