Book Review: The Great Revolt

Thrilling historical adventure set during the English peasants’ revolt of 1381, by Paul Dowswell, the author of Ausländer, and Wolf Children. It’s 1381 and the king, Richard II, has imposed a new tax on the people.

Book Review: Comprehension Ninja

Book Review: Comprehension Ninja   Comprehension Ninja Written by Andrew Jennings 48 pages each Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary: Comprehension Ninja Workbooks are ideal for supporting your child’s learning at home. With bespoke non-fiction texts and hundreds of questions, they’re packed full of comprehension practice with strong links to the National…

Book Review: Mohinder’s War

Book Review: Mohinder’s War   Mohinder’s War Written by Bali Rai 176 pages Published by Bloomsbury Publication date: 11th June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads) : A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical…

Book Review: Terraformer (+ Giveaway!)

Book Review: Terraformer Terraformer Written by Colleen Houck 536 pages Published by Trident Media Group Publication date: 12th May 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A new dystopian sci-fi YA series from the New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck Warning all Astronauts: COLONY BOUNDARY WARNING! PERMISSION TO ENTER ALIEN FOREST IS REQUIRED NOTE: NO RESCUE ATTEMPTS WILL BE…

Waiting on Wednesday: A Girl Made of Air

Waiting on Wednesday: A Girl Made of Air   A Girl Made of Air Written by Nydia Hetherington 400 pages Published by Quercus Publication date: 3rd September 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A lyrical and atmospheric homage to the strange and extraordinary, perfect for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern. This is the story of…

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Deeplight

Book Spotlight: Deeplight   Deeplight Written by Frances Hardinge Cover art by Aitch 416 pages Published by Pan Macmillan and Amulet Books (Abram) Publication date: 31st October 2019 (UK) ; 14th April 2020 (USA) Summary (from Goodreads): Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea meets Frankenstein in Frances Hardinge’s latest fantasy adventure The gods are dead. Decades…

Six for Sunday: Favourite characters from series

Six for Sunday: Favourite characters from series   It has been ages since I managed to join in with #SixforSunday and my computer has given up the ghost (I. e. Died) so I can’t even make a graphic to accompany this post! Still, imperfection is better than not posting at all, as much as the…

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets   44 Tiny Secrets Written by Sylvia Bishop Illustrated by Ashley King 192 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 23rd July 2020 Summary (from Little Tiger Press): The first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind THE…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Sin Eater

Waiting on Wednesday: The Sin Eater   The Sin Eater Written by Megan Campisi 368 pages Published by Pan Macmillan Publication date: 23rd July 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): The Handmaid’s Tale meets Alice in Wonderland in this gripping and imaginative historical novel about a shunned orphan girl in 16th century England who is ensnared in a deadly royal…

Book Review: The Wonder Machine

Book Review: The Wonder Machine   The Wonder Machine Written by Barry Timms Illustrated by Laura Brenlla 24 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 5th September 2019 (hardback), 11th June 2020 (paperback) Summary (from Little Tiger): Haven’t you heard? Wolf is building a machine. A machine that makes dreams come true! “My greatest invention…

Read, Play, Learn: On the Farm

Read, Play, Learn: On the Farm   Read, Play Learn: On the Farm Due to my background in education, and the years I spent teaching in a Early Years setting, I have been unable to resist applying some of that experience to raising my own child – hence this series of ‘Read, Play Learn‘ posts…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Notorious Virtues

Waiting on Wednesday: The Notorious Virtues   The Notorious Virtues Written by Alwyn Hamilton 368 pages Published by Faber & Faber Publication date: 18th August 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A glamorous media darling, a surprise heiress, and the magical competition of a lifetime. At sixteen, Honora “Nora” Holtzfall is the daughter of the most powerful…