Waiting on Wednesday: A Girl Made of Air

Waiting on Wednesday: A Girl Made of Air   A Girl Made of Air Written by Nydia Hetherington 400 pages Published by Quercus Publication date: 3rd September 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A lyrical and atmospheric homage to the strange and extraordinary, perfect for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern. This is the story of…

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Deeplight

Book Spotlight: Deeplight   Deeplight Written by Frances Hardinge Cover art by Aitch 416 pages Published by Pan Macmillan and Amulet Books (Abram) Publication date: 31st October 2019 (UK) ; 14th April 2020 (USA) Summary (from Goodreads): Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea meets Frankenstein in Frances Hardinge’s latest fantasy adventure The gods are dead. Decades…

Six for Sunday: Favourite characters from series

Six for Sunday: Favourite characters from series   It has been ages since I managed to join in with #SixforSunday and my computer has given up the ghost (I. e. Died) so I can’t even make a graphic to accompany this post! Still, imperfection is better than not posting at all, as much as the…

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets

Book Review: 44 Tiny Secrets   44 Tiny Secrets Written by Sylvia Bishop Illustrated by Ashley King 192 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 23rd July 2020 Summary (from Little Tiger Press): The first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind THE…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Sin Eater

Waiting on Wednesday: The Sin Eater   The Sin Eater Written by Megan Campisi 368 pages Published by Pan Macmillan Publication date: 23rd July 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): The Handmaid’s Tale meets Alice in Wonderland in this gripping and imaginative historical novel about a shunned orphan girl in 16th century England who is ensnared in a deadly royal…

Book Review: The Wonder Machine

Book Review: The Wonder Machine   The Wonder Machine Written by Barry Timms Illustrated by Laura Brenlla 24 pages Published by Little Tiger Publication date: 5th September 2019 (hardback), 11th June 2020 (paperback) Summary (from Little Tiger): Haven’t you heard? Wolf is building a machine. A machine that makes dreams come true! “My greatest invention…

Read, Play, Learn: On the Farm

Read, Play, Learn: On the Farm   Read, Play Learn: On the Farm Due to my background in education, and the years I spent teaching in a Early Years setting, I have been unable to resist applying some of that experience to raising my own child – hence this series of ‘Read, Play Learn‘ posts…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Notorious Virtues

Waiting on Wednesday: The Notorious Virtues   The Notorious Virtues Written by Alwyn Hamilton 368 pages Published by Faber & Faber Publication date: 18th August 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): A glamorous media darling, a surprise heiress, and the magical competition of a lifetime. At sixteen, Honora “Nora” Holtzfall is the daughter of the most powerful…

Book Review: Baby Loves Earth

Book Review: Baby Loves Earth Baby Loves Earth Written by Jennifer Eckford Illustrated by Teresa Bellon 30 pages Published by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books Publication date: 2nd June 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): E is for Elephant, T is for Tree, W is for Warming, and X is for eXtinct in this beautiful ABC book designed…

Mini-Reviews: Strange Houses

Mini-Reviews: Strange Houses   When I have the choice between reading another book or reviewing the one I have just read, I usually choose to read another one. As much as I adore shouting about books on my blog, reading is, after all, my first love! Therefore, I have decided to do some mini-review posts…

Book Review: Cannonball Coralie and the Lion

Book Review: Cannonball Coralie and the Lion   Cannonball Coralie and the Lion Written and Illustrated by Grace Easton 40 pages Published by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books (The Quarto Group) Publication date: 19th May 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Coralie longs to join the circus but the Man in the Big Hat says her tricks just…

Waiting on Wednesday: House of Dragons

Waiting on Wednesday: House of Dragons House of Dragons Written by Jessica Cluess 448 pages Published by Random House Books Publication date: 12th May 2020 Summary (from Goodreads): Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer…