5 skincare tips I wish I’d known sooner

So, this isn’t something I usually blog about, but I have found blogs really useful in helping me with various skincare problems over the years so I thought I would share what has worked for me.

I have extremely dry, sensitive skin which is also blemish prone. When I get a spot or a cut, it seems to take forever to heal and I am often left with red marks afterwards. Yet, a lot of the skincare products I have tried over the years have made things worse rather than better.

skincare1


Here are 5 tips that I wish I had known sooner:


1) Sunscreen is for every day

I know that I am probably the only person on the planet who didn’t know this, but I had always assumed that the SPF you often already find in face cream and make-up would be enough. I had thought that you only needed to put on dedicated sunscreen when on holiday. Instead, it is something that you should be wearing under your make-up (if you wear any) every single day, even if it’s not particularly sunny. It not only helps to protect your skin but also helps to even out the tone of your skin so, overall, your skin is healthier and looks it.

I use the Simple SPF 30 face cream which is an absolute steal as it layers under make-up without pilling and is the cheapest high SPF face cream I have found.


2) Face masks should be a regular part of your routine

I had always assumed that face masks were for times when you felt like a little extra pampering and associated them with a girly sleepover or a weekend at the spa. But, used as a regular part of your facial skincare routine, they really have an impact on how good your skin looks. I try to use a mask once a week and have noticed a big improvement in my skin and in how quickly any blemishes heal.


3) Eye cream doesn’t go on your eyelids

For a long time I didn’t even use eye cream even though I had heard from lots of people that you should. I had thought that my normal face cream would do the job, but started using it recently after picking up a nice cream quite cheaply. The jury is still out on whether or not eye cream really has much impact, with some swearing by it and others remaining unfussed.

But the thing I wish I had known is exactly where to apply it – eye cream goes below the eye, right down to your cheekbones, right around the edge of your eye socket and up to your eyebrows but NOT on your eyelids. That is a surefire way to have stinging eyes. Perhaps I’m an idiot for not realising that eye cream didn’t actually go on your eyelids, but I’m sure I’m not the only person to have made that mistake!


4) Vaseline (petroleum jelly) is amazing

Vaseline has a bit of mixed press. I remember reading as a teenager that it could be used to help your eyelashes become fuller, tame your eyebrows and as lipbalm. Then, reading later about how it could block your pores and cause spots to get worse. More recent research shows that Vaseline is non-comedogenic i.e. it does not block your pores. In fact, it can’t as the particles are too large to enter your pores.

I tried Vaseline again recently after my nose became chapped and sore when I had a cold – applied petroleum jelly and woke up to soft skin which didn’t hurt at all! There are even people out there using Vaseline as a night mask or acne treatment as it seals in the moisture of other products applied before it. While I’m not brave enough to apply it all over my face (more worried about the pillows!) I do now use it for areas of stubborn dry skin and find it works wonders.


5) Even spotty skin needs moisture

As a teenage I suffered horribly with a combination of acne and eczema. The moisturising products for the eczema seemed to make the spots worse while the products for getting rid of acne left my skin dry, flaky and angry. I wish I had realised sooner that even skin with spots needs moisture to help it heal and repair. I probably did a lot of damage to my skin and certainly caused myself lots of discomfort in continuing to use anti-acne products which dried my skin out.


Were any of these tips useful for you?

Or am I just a complete idiot for not realising these things sooner?

Have you got any skincare tips that you wish you had know sooner?

Would you like to see more posts like this?

Let me know in the comments!


While you’re here, why not check out some of my multilingual flashcards.

Or read a book review of The Toy Makers or Sunflowers in February.

Find me on Twitter or Goodreads.


 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I don’t use eye cream but if I did i would put it on my eyelids so no I didn’t know that and now I sure won’t do it 🙂 Thank you for sharing your tips and tricks 🙂 I would love for you to check out my latest post 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been rubbish at blog-hopping this week as has been parent-teacher evening in school so have been at work really late every day. Am planning to get caught up on everyone’s posts this weekend!
      I had never really used eye cream before but finally bought some after being persuaded that I should by a friend – of course I put it on my eyelids, then felt a bit silly when I was told that you shouldn’t! If I can help at least one other person avoid the stinging eyes I am glad!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma's Library says:

    I use Vaseline in pretty much the same way. The skin around my nose gets very dry during the hay fever months (for me March – Aug) so the vaseline helps to stop it getting sore. It also creates a barrier between my nose and the pollen which is great.

    My go-to skin care products now are those from the Body Shop, particularly in the Tea Tree, Seaweed or Aloe Vera ranges. I use a combination of the three and they seem to work really well, even if I have an acne flareup. I wish I’d discovered them sooner but they’re helping now and that’s all that matters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have the same problem around my nose and eyes but now have discovered that vaseline really helps!
      I use the Tea Tree and Witch Hazel range from Boots which is great. I haven’t tried the ranges you mentioned from the Body Shop, but I was given some products from their Vitamin C range last year and loved them – went back to buy loads more in the sale! I will have a look at the ranges you mentioned too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Emma's Library says:

        I’ve heard a few good things about the Vitamin C range. I might have to give it a try. I’ll soon be getting one of the birthday vouchers from the Body Shop so I’ll use it to bulk buy the products I need.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hope you like them!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Emmy says:

    Oily skin sure does need a moisturiser. Crazy how many folk out there don’t realise that x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! That’s why I decided to do this post because I didn’t know and could have improved my skin a lot earlier if I had known.Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.