Library Loot: Dragons, Villains and Lost Property

Library Loot: Dragons, Villains and Lost Property


libraryloot 7th june


I’ve been fairly restrained with my library loans this week, because I already have so many out that I need to read! However I couldn’t resist picking up Vicious and Vengeful when I spotted them (finally) back on the shelf in the science-fiction section. My reservations of Malamander and Dragon’s Daughter also arrived.

What have you borrowed from your library this week?


Malamander by Thomas Taylor


Malamander is told from the perspective of Herbert Lemon, the Lost-and-Founder of the Grand Nautilus Hotel, who tries to unite objects that have been left at the hotel with their owners. Other characters in the story include Violet Palma, who is lost and needs to be found, and the eponymous Malamander, who controls people’s dreams.

The town of Eerie-on-Sea sounds interesting and I keep hearing people talking about this middle-grade mystery so I will give it a read!


Dragon Daughter by Liz Flanagan


On the island of Arcosi, dragons and their riders used to rule the skies. But now they are only legends, found in bedtime stories, on beautiful murals and ancient jewellery. Then servant girl Milla witnesses a murder and finds herself caring for the last four dragon eggs. Forced to keep them secret amidst the growing tensions in the city, she begins to fear that the island’s ruler, Duke Olvar, isn’t all that he seems. But how can Milla and her friends keep the eggs safe when it means endangering everything she’s ever loved? Fiery friendships, forgotten family and the struggle for power collide as Milla’s fight to save the dragons leads her to discover her own hidden past.

It has dragons. That’s usually enough in itself for me to want to read a book! I also have a soft spot for fantasy books so this one sounds like my cup of tea!


Vicious by V. E. Schwab


Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. 

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

I am a big fan of X-Men and loved Renegades, so this story about superheroes and villains sounds like I would enjoy it. I have previously enjoyed Schwab’s writing in The Darker Side of Magic series, especially how she creates characters and writes dialogue, so I am looking forward to this.


Vengeful by V. E. Schwab


Eli Ever and Victor Vale were only medical students when their mutual discovery that near-death experiences can, under the right conditions, manifest extraordinary abilities.

They were best friends, and rivals, and then enemies. They were dead, then alive, and then—Eli killed Victor, once and for all.

Or so he thought—but Sydney Clarke felt otherwise, and used her own superpower to tip the scales. Now, a trio hides in the shadows, while another takes advantages of post-death life to take over the city of Merit.

If there can be life after death—will there be calm after vengeance, or will chaos rule?

I was lucky enough to spot Book 2 on the shelf as well so I grabbed both of them, so confident I am that I will like this series. I had originally thought it was a duology, but it seems that there is a third book coming out at some point, although it is, as of yet, untitled on Goodreads. Obviously, now is the perfect time to get caught up!

(I am skimming over that summary because I have a nasty feeling that is contains a spoiler for the first book – if you don’t mind seeing it, highlight after the ‘then’ in the summary.)


libraryloot 7th june


What did you think of my choices this week?

Did you spot any you might read?


librarylootbadge

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.


See my previous library loots here:

Mysteries, Paris and Hope

Feminism, Folklore and Body Positivity

Gymnastics, Mermaids and Achieving Your Dreams

Birds, Cages and Secrets

Dragons, Magic and Fairytales

Sequels and Secrets

Outer Space, Winter and Magic

Witches and War

Fantasy, Intrigue and Misunderstandings

Magic, Romance, More Magic

UK YA Bests

Aliens, Fences and Fairies

War, Hope and Storms

Clockwork, Curses and Fossils

Family, Dreams and Secret Agents

Magic, Memory and Climate Change

Independence, Love and Being Different

Society, Magic and Warriors


What do you think of the books I have chosen?

Would you like to read any of them?

Are there any you would recommend me moving straight to the top of the TBR list?

Do you have a library near you?

How often do you borrow books?

Do you ever buy books after having already read them? (I do, all the time!)


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram


Thanks for reading!

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Have always meant to read Dragon Daughter so looking forward to hearing your thoughts on that! I didn’t really gel with Malamander but I really hope you love it- I am absolutely the unpopular opinion x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Recent;y I seem to have an opinion that is the opposite to everyone else – I read a book which everyone has been raving about and thought it was a bit ‘meh’. The read another which people have been slating and I really liked it! I just spotted Dragon Daughter at the library and it sounds like my kind of thing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh which ones? I wonder if you might feel the same about Malamader in that case- it seems like everyone loves it except for me at the minute 😂x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Viper for the first one – everyone seems to love it! Nocturna for the second – everyone is slating it for being a rip-off of A Darker Shade of Magic and there are similarities, but just because a famous author has used a trope doesn’t mean that trope is off-limits for anyone else.

        Like

  2. I think you made a great library haul! I really want to read the Schwab books! Enjoy your books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I loved The Darker Shade of Magic series and I like superheroes so I have high hopes for this series too!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.