Library Loot: Mysteries, Paris and Hope

librarylootbadge


Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.


This is the first time that I’ve participated in Library Loot, usually because I get lots and lots of books from the library throughout the week and am not organised enough to get them all in one place to photograph…so I’ve just decided to get the book covers online to make it easier!

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week:

libraryloot1


There is a good selection of middle-grade, YA and adult fiction, plus some non-fiction. My favourite books are usually fantasy and science-fiction but I am trying to branch out a bit!

The Secret of the Night Train – I loved Sylvia Bishop’s Bookshop Girl so grabbed this as soon as it appeared on the shelf!

Countless – have had this recommended numerous times, though have been warned that I will cry so I’m not planning to read it on public transport or in the park.

Paris Revealed – I have only been to Paris once, but it felt familiar because I have read about it so much. We got engaged there so it will always have a  special place in my memories. This looks like a fun way to get to know the city better.

Jolly Foul Play – this is the fourth in the middle-grade detective series, Murder Most Unladylike, which I am enjoying a lot.

The Immortalists – once again, I keep hearing good things about this so going to give it a go.

The Elegance of the Hedgehog – this is set in Paris which is enough to make me want to read it. I have been meaning to pick this up for ages because it sounds thoughtful.

A Dream of Lights – this is set in North Korea and sounds fascinating – it is all about a girl who dreams of freedom.

Starry River of the Sky – I always try to seek out more own voices authors and am a complete sucker for any books set in Japan, China, Vietnam or Italy (all countries where I have lived and have meaning for me).


I love going to the library, though I do have a bit of ‘kid in a sweetshop’ syndrome where I want to borrow ALL THE BOOKS! We can borrow up to 20 books at a time…and I usually end up ‘borrowing’ my partner’s library card too. (Ssh!)

Technically, the library should result in me buying fewer books, but what actually happens is that I go out and buy my own copy if I’ve borrowed it and read it. Not sure that’s how it’s meant to work…


Do you have a library near you?

How often do you borrow books?

Do you ever buy books after having already read them?


Find me on Twitter , Goodreads or Instagram

Thanks for reading!

21 Comments Add yours

  1. I quite liked Countless when I read it, and LOVE Jolly Foul Play. Secrets of the Night Train is on my TBR. It sounds fab 😊
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m enjoying having more time to read!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your loot! Looks like you have a fun variety there. But what a shame your library has such a low borrowing limit! I would also definitely need to borrow a family member’s card. Our library recently reduced the limit from 99 to 50, which is lower than I’d like (I have 35 items out right now).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s amazing! When I was growing up we were limited to 7, then 9. So 20 seemed like quite a lot to me! I have also maxed out my partner’s card so have about 40 books out right now…
      I really love the idea of sharing what we get from the library so I’m going to try to join in as often as possible! Thank you for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.