Six for Sunday: Characters to Avoid


#SixforSunday is created by Steph from A Little But a Lot.


The theme for this week is six characters that you would not like to be friends with. I actually found this really hard. In the end I have chosen six characters who you would be better avoiding, for one reason or another.

Two of them are particularly nasty characters,one is someone we probably all know, one is cunning and tricksy, while another two are just bumblers!


Check out some of my previous weeks here:

Books I would like to see as movies

Book characters I would like to stuck in a lift with

Animal companions in children’s books

Book characters I would like to be friends with


S4S 5 Avoid


Jameel from I am Thunder

Muzna is the main character in I am Thunder and the boy she is interest in is Arif. His older brother Jameel is a controlling character in both of their lives, imposing his views of what a Muslim should be on both Muzna and Arif, failing to protect his younger brother and leading him into danger. Big brothers should be protective, positive influences on their younger siblings and he did not fulfill this in any way. He really gave me a sense of menace and unpredictability.


Gilderoy Lockheart from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

He was the first person that popped into me head. It’s not because he is the worst character or even the worst person you could hope to meet, but he is so incompetent that things have a habit of going wrong around him. And his inflated sense of self-worth means he never seems to learn from any of these mistakes. I would rather have almost anyone else beside me on journeys into the magical world!


Jude from Knife Edge (Noughts and Crosses series)

Once again, Jude is an older brother figure. He is the older brother of Callum, the Nought that Sephy falls in love with in the first book. Jude leads his brother into being involved in a terrorist group and blames everyone else for the consequences. Without spoiling too much about the first or second book, he is an unstable and menacing figure haunting the edges of Sephy’s life, with his actions leading to a lot of pain for all involved.


Lord Jardine in Gilded Cage / Tarnished City

I love this series very much and Silyen Jardine is pretty much my favourite character. His brothers, Jenner and Gavar both become much more interesting in the second book…you will have to read it to find out why!

Their father, Lord Jardine is by far the worst of the family, believing he has the right to whatever he wants, whatever the cost. I would not trust him an inch!


Mildred Hubble from The Worst Witch

I actually feel terrible including her in this list as many of the other characters on this list are truly despicable. However, she is one of the first people I thought of when I saw the prompt. The reason is that, although I love the Worst Witch books and love Mildred as a protagonist, you can’t help but admit that things have a suspicious habit of going wrong around her…

So, as much as I like her as a character, I would give her a bit of a wide berth if I really met her!


Danny from The Exact Opposite of Okay

Danny is someone that we all know. The really nice guy that you’re friends with but you don’t want to date. Before you know it, he’s complaining that he’s been ‘friend-zoned’ and seems annoyed that being nice isn’t enough to get you to fall i love with him.

I think there is a problem in a society where we say ‘nice guys finish last’ and talk about ‘the friend zone’. Of course, it is important to be nice, but it doesn’t mean that you have the right to expect a girl to reciprocate with anything more than friendship. For me, a guy has to be in ‘the friend zone’ before I would ever trust them to be anything more. If someone has told you that they’re not interested, it’s not cute to keep pressuring them or accuse them of leading you on when they were just being friendly.


Oh, this was a tough one this week and I feel like some of my answers may be a little controversial…


What did you think of my choices?

Did you agree or disagree with any of them?

Which book characters would you avoid in real life?


Please link your posts in the comments if you have also taken part in #SixforSunday because I would love to read your answers!


While you’re here, why not check out my reviews of The First Dance or I wore my Blackest Hair?


Would you like to know how to annoy a bookworm in 5 easy steps?


Find me on Twitter or Goodreads


Thanks for reading!

 

 

48 Comments Add yours

  1. selliott16 says:

    Danny is a questionable human. No one has done anything bad enough to be friends with him. He irritates me.
    I definitely need to check out some of the other choices on your list!
    Thank you for posting on this week’s #SixforSunday! You’re a star! See you next week! S x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This week it was really tough to think of 6!
      But Danny was on there straightaway…

      Like

  2. I’ve only read Noughts and Crosses of the series, but Jude is totally horrid! And Danny’s horrible as well. I really wouldn’t want to be friends with Patricia Porshley-Plum from Who Let the Gods Out; she’s a bit too fond of double crossing šŸ˜’
    Amy xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, that’s a good person – hadn’t thought of her when writing this post! She really is awful, taking advantage of people when they’re down! Jude gets worse in Knife Edge, MUCH worse!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.